Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for 75 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!

07.06.2021

How to generate ROI with EMG IMPOC?

Online measurement of material properties of ferromagnetic steels

Development of the IMPOC raw value over strip length measured in a hot-dip galvanizing line

Flat steel producers heavily depend on online quality data to maintain the production processes on an optimum level and to avoid costly rework or downgrading of material. As described already in earlier articles, the EMG IMPOC system (Impulse Magnetic Process Online Control) delivers reliable online results for tensile strength and yield strength and allows immediate process interactions.

Today more than 70 EMG IMPOC systems are utilised in HDG, CAL, pickling and tinning lines as well as pressing lines in the automotive industry. 

EMG IMPOC covers a wide material spectrum from IF-steels, Dual Phase steels, TRIP steels and 3rd Generation AHSS Grades with tensile strength values up to 1600 MPa. The system can be applied at production speeds up to 900 m/min for material gauges up to 3 mm and for production speeds up to 600 m/min for thicker material up to 6 mm.

Based on the application scenarios worldwide the major return of investment factors for EMG IMPOC have been clearly identified and analysed: reduction of destructive testing, faster and more accurate coil release, minimising scrap, more efficient and less costly rework, higher yield and tremendous cost reduction in the development phase of new steel grades.

But, why is EMG IMPOC such a powerful tool?

As the reader may already know, EMG IMPOC does not allow a direct measurement of material properties (i.e. tensile strength and yield strength). The direct IMPOC measurement value is the gradient of residual magnetic field strength in A/m² on the top and bottom side of the steel strip (the so-called IMPOC raw value). Based on that raw value, the mechanical parameters of the steel strip (i.e. tensile strength and yield strength) can then be assigned to this gradient via correlations with the destructive testing results and mathematical modelling taking into account the steel group, the strip thickness, the skin-pass rolling and the yield degree either in combination or separately.

But even without mathematical modelling EMG IMPOC delivers valuable data. The IMPOC raw value can be produced over the entire strip length immediately after installation, thereby enabling a relative statement to be made regarding the material behaviour in the coil.

The monetary value of the IMPOC raw data for the development of new steel grades

The image shows a typical curve for the IMPOC measurement raw value over the coil length. 

In this graph the typical bath tub form shows the influence of the different cooling scheme at the beginning and end of the coil due the up-coiling at the exit of the hot mill. The tension leveller degree is unchanged over that period. The variations over strip length in this specific case are in the  range of 10 %. This makes process drifts and even minor deviations visible and allows proper and immediate reactions. Producers do not need to wait for the results of the destructive testing available only hours later and intensive destructive testing can be reduced; an invaluable asset for the development of new materials especially for AHSS (Advanced High Strength Steels).

Process optimisation based on IMPOC measurements in the pickling line 

Another specific application is the use of EMG IMPOC in pickling lines. Pickling lines are the first element in the process chain to detect deviations from the desired material properties. Because destructive testing results aren’t (or in less quantity) available at pickling lines, EMG generated “standard coefficients” for regression models, which can be applied in pickling lines. Long term analysis showed that these “standard coefficients (IMPOC express)” delivered absolute values for the tensile strength which differ from relative changes in full blown models only in the range of +-5 %. In the end the user gets a perfect overview of the relative changes of tensile strength over strip length and a good indication of the absolute values. Immediate reactions with respect to strip release and blocking or alarms concerning cooling problems in the hot mill are therefore a direct consequence of the IMPOC application in pickling lines. Again, for this application no further model development is required and the user gets the results immediately after the system operation starts.

Further return of invest factors result from the model development

In case the user decides to start the development of mathematical models for different steel groups, with or without the support of EMG experts, further ROI factors materialise. Without going into details, they cover the following elements:

  • Full online transparency of the material properties tensile strength and yield strength over strip length and width (absolute values)
  • Possibility of immediate production interventions in case of material properties deviations. Thus, avoiding faulty production and rejections.
  • Drastic reduction of inspection and rework costs
  • Substantial reduction of destructive sampling costs
  • Perfect control of the outgoing material for further processing internally or externally (e.g. at the automotive producer)
  • Fulfillment of the requirements of the end customer 
  • Possibility to transfer the quality records regarding material properties to the end customer; an increasing demand of the automotive industry

 

Finally

Of course, the exact monetary value of the EMG IMPOC application heavily depends on the specific application scenario for the specific production line. EMG offers various ways to support you in the calculation of your own possible ROI by the introduction of EMG IMPOC. This is on the one hand a summary EMG techpaper (IMPOC – HOW TO GENERATE ROI WITH ONLINE MEASUREMENT OF MATERIAL PROPERTIES IN FLAT STEEL PRODUCTION 2021) which goes deeper into that topic, which we provide you on request (just send an email to marketing@emg-automation.com under the subject IMPOC ROI). On the other hand, we provide direct consultancy and IMPOC ROI workshops using a ROI calculation template for your direct support. In case that you are interested in the latter, just send a  short, informal email to matthias.baerwald@emg-automation.com. We are happy to support you whenever and wherever you want, digitally or in on-site meetings. 



This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Some cookies on this site are essential, and the site won't work as expected without them. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking on simple links.

We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of the site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features of the site may be unavailable.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit 75 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!

07.06.2021

Wie generiert man ROI mit EMG IMPOC?

Online-Messung der Materialeigenschaften von ferromagnetischen Stählen

Entwicklung des IMPOC-Rohwerts über die Bandlänge gemessen in einer Feuerverzinkungslinie

Flachstahlproduzenten sind in hohem Maße auf Online-Qualitätsdaten angewiesen, um die Produktionsprozesse auf einem optimalen Niveau zu halten und kostspielige Nacharbeiten oder eine Herabstufung des Materials zu vermeiden. Wie bereits in früheren Artikeln beschrieben, liefert das EMG IMPOC-System (Impulse Magnetic Process Online Control) zuverlässige Online-Ergebnisse für Zugfestigkeit und Streckgrenze und ermöglicht sofortige Prozessinteraktionen.

Heute sind mehr als 70 EMG IMPOC-Systeme in HDG-, CAL-, Beiz- und Verzinnungslinien sowie in Presslinien in der Automobilindustrie im Einsatz. 

EMG IMPOC deckt ein breites Materialspektrum von IF-Stählen, Dualphasenstählen, TRIP-Stählen und AHSS-Güten der 3. Generation mit Zugfestigkeitswerten bis zu 1600 MPa ab. Das System kann bei Produktionsgeschwindigkeiten von bis zu 900 m/min für Materialstärken bis zu 3 mm und bei Produktionsgeschwindigkeiten von bis zu 600 m/min für dickeres Material bis zu 6 mm eingesetzt werden.

Basierend auf den weltweiten Anwendungsszenarien wurden die wichtigsten Return-of-Investment-Faktoren für EMG IMPOC klar identifiziert und analysiert: Reduzierung der zerstörenden Prüfungen, schnellere und genauere Coil-Freigabe, Minimierung des Ausschusses, effizientere und kostengünstigere Nacharbeit, höhere Ausbeute und enorme Kostenreduktion in der Entwicklungsphase neuer Stahlsorten.

Aber warum ist EMG IMPOC ein so mächtiges Werkzeug?

Wie der Leser vielleicht schon weiß, erlaubt EMG IMPOC keine direkte Messung von Materialeigenschaften (d.h. Zugfestigkeit und Streckgrenze). Der direkte IMPOC-Messwert ist der Gradient der magnetischen Restfeldstärke in A/m² auf der Ober- und Unterseite des Stahlbandes (der sogenannte IMPOC-Rohwert). Ausgehend von diesem Rohwert können dann über Korrelationen mit den Ergebnissen der zerstörenden Prüfung und mathematischer Modellierung unter Berücksichtigung der Stahlgruppe, der Banddicke, des Dressier- und des Streckgrades, entweder in Kombination oder einzeln die mechanischen Parameter des Stahlbandes (d.h. Zugfestigkeit und Streckgrenze) diesem Gradienten zugeordnet und Absolutwerte in MPa berechnet werden.

Aber auch ohne mathematische Modellierung liefert EMG IMPOC wertvolle Daten. Der IMPOC-Rohwert kann unmittelbar nach der Inbetriebnahme des Systems über die gesamte Bandlänge gemessen werden und ermöglicht so eine relative Aussage über das Materialverhalten im Band.

Der monetäre Wert der IMPOC-Rohdaten für die Entwicklung von neuen Stahlsorten

Das Bild zeigt eine typische Kurve für den IMPOC-Messrohwert über die Bandlänge. 

In diesem Diagramm zeigt die typische Badewannenform den Einfluss des unterschiedlichen Kühlschemas am Anfang und Ende des Bandes durch das Aufwickeln am Ausgang des Warmwalzwerks. Der Streckgrad ist über diesen Zeitraum unverändert. Die Schwankungen über die Bandlänge liegen in diesem speziellen Fall im Bereich von 10 %. Dies macht Prozessschwankungen und selbst kleinere Abweichungen sichtbar und ermöglicht angemessene und sofortige Reaktionen. Die Hersteller müssen nicht auf die Ergebnisse der zerstörenden Prüfung warten, die erst Stunden später vorliegen, und intensive zerstörende Prüfvorgänge können reduziert werden; ein unschätzbarer Vorteil für die Entwicklung neuer Werkstoffe, insbesondere für AHSS-Güten (Advanced High Strength Steels).

Prozessoptimierung auf Basis von IMPOC-Messungen in der Beizlinie 

Eine weitere spezifische Anwendung ist der Einsatz von EMG IMPOC in Beizlinien. Beizlinien sind das erste Element in der Prozesskette, um Abweichungen von den gewünschten Materialeigenschaften zu erkennen. Da an Beizlinien zerstörende Prüfergebnisse nicht (oder in geringerer Menge) zur Verfügung stehen, hat EMG "Standardkoeffizienten" für Regressionsmodelle generiert, die in Beizlinien angewendet werden können. Langzeitanalysen zeigten, dass diese "Standardkoeffizienten (IMPOC express)" absolute Werte für die Zugfestigkeit liefern, die sich von relativen Änderungen in vollwertigen Modellen nur im Bereich von +-5 % unterscheiden. Am Ende erhält der Anwender einen perfekten Überblick über die relativen Änderungen der Zugfestigkeit über die Bandlänge und einen guten Hinweis auf die absoluten Werte. Sofortige Reaktionen hinsichtlich Bandfreigabe und Blockierung oder Alarme bei Kühlproblemen in der Warmwalzanlage sind daher eine direkte Folge der IMPOC-Anwendung in Beizlinien. Auch für diese Anwendung ist keine weitere Modellentwicklung erforderlich und der Anwender erhält die Ergebnisse sofort nach Inbetriebnahme der Anlage.

Weitere Return-of-Invest-Faktoren ergeben sich aus der Modellentwicklung

Entscheidet sich der Anwender, die Entwicklung mathematischer Modelle für verschiedene Stahlgruppen zu starten, mit oder ohne Unterstützung von EMG-Experten, ergeben sich weitere ROI-Faktoren. Ohne ins Detail zu gehen, umfassen sie die folgenden Elemente:

  • Volle Online-Transparenz der Materialeigenschaften Zugfestigkeit und Streckgrenze über Bandlänge und -breite (Absolutwerte)
  • Möglichkeit des sofortigen Eingreifens in die Produktion bei Abweichungen der Materialeigenschaften. Dadurch Vermeidung von Fehlproduktionen und Ausschuss.
  • Drastische Reduzierung der Prüf- und Nacharbeitskosten
  • Erhebliche Reduzierung der Kosten für zerstörende Stichproben
  • Perfekte Kontrolle des Ausgangsmaterials zur Weiterverarbeitung intern oder extern (z.B. beim Automobilhersteller)
  • Erfüllung der Anforderungen des Endkunden 
  • Möglichkeit der Übermittlung der Qualitätsaufzeichnungen bezüglich der Materialeigenschaften an den Endkunden; eine zunehmende Forderung der Automobilindustrie

 

Fazit

Natürlich hängt der genaue monetäre Wert der EMG IMPOC-Anwendung stark vom konkreten Anwendungsszenario für die jeweilige Produktionslinie ab. EMG bietet verschiedene Möglichkeiten, Sie bei der Berechnung Ihres eigenen möglichen ROI durch die Einführung von EMG IMPOC zu unterstützen. Dies ist zum einen ein zusammenfassendes EMG Techpaper (IMPOC - HOW TO GENERATE ROI WITH ONLINE MEASUREMENT OF MATERIAL PROPERTIES IN FLAT STEEL PRODUCTION 2021), das tiefer in die Thematik einsteigt und das wir Ihnen auf Anfrage gerne zur Verfügung stellen (senden Sie einfach eine E-Mail an marketing@emg-automation.com unter dem Betreff IMPOC ROI). Zum anderen bieten wir Ihnen direkte Beratung und IMPOC-ROI-Workshops mit einer ROI-Berechnungsvorlage zur direkten Unterstützung an. Sollten Sie an Letzterem interessiert sein, senden Sie einfach eine kurze, formlose E-Mail an matthias.baerwald@emg-automation.com. Wir unterstützen Sie gerne, wann und wo immer Sie wollen, digital oder in Vor-Ort-Terminen. 

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies zur Verbesserung des Erlebnisses unserer Besucher. Indem Sie weiterhin auf dieser Webseite navigieren, erklären Sie sich mit unserer Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.

Einige dieser Cookies sind technisch zwingend notwendig, um gewisse Funktionen der Webseite zu gewährleisten.

Darüber hinaus verwenden wir einige Cookies, die dazu dienen, Informationen über das Benutzerverhalten auf dieser Webseite zu gewinnen und unsere Webseite auf Basis dieser Informationen stetig zu verbessern.