Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for 75 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!

16.09.2021

What is behind EMG iSCAN® (II)?

The application

Left: Installation example (A: Velocimeter and thickness measurement), B: Width profile measurement with 2 laser sensors) - Right: Possible geometry deviations of the slab.

Principle

As already mentioned in the last newsletter, the EMG iSCAN® quality assurance system is used for online geometry measurement of slabs and strands. Designed for harsh environmental conditions, this system solution precisely measures the length, width, width profile, thickness, and speed even of red-hot slabs and strands on the roller table. EMG iSCAN® is used in conventional continuous casting plants as well as in CSP® or ISP® plants. 

EMG iSCAN® is installed in the continuous casting process area (typically directly after the slab is separated from the strand), near the slab stockyard, at the roller table towards or out of the slab stockyard, or in the area of the reheating furnaces. The typical thickness range of slabs is 150 to 450 mm. The picture on the left shows a typical setup with sensors for speed and distance measurement (A) and two 2D laser sensors (B) to the left and right of the roller table for width profile measurement.

 

Which geometry deviations can be examined?

The interpretation, combination and analysis of the sensor data takes place in EMG's proprietary evaluation software and is displayed online for the user via a well-organized graphical user interface (GUI). This makes potential major problems in the slab dimensions visible and measurable, namely:

  • a possible camber shape,
  • a thickness wedge across slab width and
  • general deviations from the ideal cross profile.

Schematic examples are shown in the illustration on the right.

 

What should be considered in the system design?

When selecting sensors and installing the solution, the following characteristics of the application must be taken into account:

  • Strand or slab width (min./max.)
  • Ribbon or slab thickness (min./max.)
  • Width of roller table (max.) and roller table speed (max.)
  • Strand or slab alignment (centered, off-center)
  • Horizontal displacement of strand or slab (max.)
  • Distance between strand or slab surface and sensor plane above roller table
  • Strand or slab surface temperature (max.)


Depending on this, e.g., different laser types and different cooling concepts or also a special design for the support frame of the sensor systems are used. At this point, EMG advises you in detail and selects the suitable combination of sensor, cooling and mechanical elements in coordination with you. 

 

Conclusion:

With the EMG iSCAN® quality assurance system, the user receives a proven and reliable solution for slab and strand dimension measurement. If required, EMG supplies everything from a single source, including the measuring frame, and can draw on the experience gained from approx. 60 installations of a configuration of this kind. Each installation is customized for the specific line and equipped with the appropriate combination and design of sensors for the specific application. The standardised software environment applied allows the realisation of the various application scenarios for all possible system configurations.

 

We have sparked your interest?

You want to know more about EMG iSCAN®? Do you have your own ideas for using EMG iSCAN® technology? Please feel free to contact our sales organization or our EMG iSCAN® product management directly at: iscan@emg-automation.com and visit our website.

 

Download

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Some cookies on this site are essential, and the site won't work as expected without them. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking on simple links.

We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of the site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features of the site may be unavailable.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit 75 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!

16.09.2021

Was verbirgt sich hinter EMG iSCAN® (II)?

Der Einsatz

Links: Installationsbeispiel (A: Velocimeter und Dickenmessung), B: Breitenprofilmessung mit 2 Lasersensoren) – Rechts: Mögliche Geometrieabweichungen der Bramme

Prinzipielles

Wie schon im letzten Newsletter erwähnt, wird das Qualitätssichernde System EMG iSCAN® zur Online-Geometriemessung von Brammen und Strängen eingesetzt. Für raue Umgebungsbedingungen konzipiert, werden mit dieser Systemlösung die Länge, die Breite, das Breitenprofil, die Dicke und die Geschwindigkeit auch von glühenden Brammen und Strängen auf dem Rollgang präzise gemessen. EMG iSCAN® kommt sowohl in konventionellen Stranggießanlagen als auch in CSP®- oder ISP®-Anlagen zum Einsatz. 

Die Installation von EMG iSCAN® erfolgt im Bereich des Stranggießprozesses (typischerweise direkt nach der Trennung der Bramme vom Strang), in der Nähe des Brammenlagers, am Rollgang zum oder vom Brammenlager oder im Bereich der Wärmeöfen. Der typische Dickenbereich von Brammen liegt bei 150 bis 450 mm. Im Bild links ist ein typischer Aufbau mit Sensoren zur Geschwindigkeits- und Abstandsmessung (A) und zwei 2D-Lasersensoren (B) links und rechts neben dem Rollgang zur Breitenprofilmessung zu erkennen.

 

Welche Geometrie-Abweichungen können untersucht werden?

Die Interpretation, Kombination und Analyse der Sensordaten erfolgt in der EMG-eigenen Auswertesoftware und wird dem Nutzer über eine übersichtliche grafische Benutzerschnittstelle (GUI) online angezeigt. Damit werden potenzielle Hauptprobleme in den Brammendimensionen sicht- und messbar, und zwar:

  • eine mögliche Säbelform,
  • ein Dickenkeil über die Brammenbreite und
  • generelle Abweichungen vom idealen Querprofil.

 

Schematische Beispiele sind in der Darstellung rechts im Bild gezeigt.

 

Was ist bei der Systemausführung zu beachten?

Bei der Auswahl der Sensoren und Installation der Lösung sind folgende Merkmale der Anwendung zu beachten:

  • Strang- bzw. Brammenbreite (min./max.)
  • Strang- bzw. Brammendicke (min./max.)
  • Breite des Rollgangs (max.) und Rollganggeschwindigkeit (max.)
  • Strang- bzw. Brammenausrichtung (zentriert, außermittig)
  • Horizontale Verschiebung des Stranges oder Bramme (max.)
  • Abstand Strang- bzw. Brammenoberfläche zur Sensorebene über dem Rollgang
  • Strang- bzw. Brammenoberflächentemperatur (max.)

 

Davon abhängig kommen z. B. unterschiedliche Lasertypen und unterschiedliche Kühlkonzepte oder auch eine spezielle Konstruktion für den Tragrahmen der Sensorik zum Einsatz. An dieser Stelle berät Sie EMG ausführlich und wählt in Abstimmung mit Ihnen die geeignete Kombination von Sensor, Kühl- und Mechanikelementen aus. 

 

Fazit:

Mit dem Qualitätssichernden System EMG iSCAN® erhält der Anwender eine erprobte und zuverlässige Lösung zur Brammen- und Strang-Dimensionsmessung. EMG liefert dabei bei Bedarf alles aus einer Hand, einschließlich des Messrahmens, und kann auf die Erfahrungen aus ca. 60 Installationen einer derart konfigurierten Lösung zurückgreifen. Jede Installation wird dabei linienspezifisch konfiguriert und anwendungsspezifisch mit der entsprechenden Kombination und Ausführung von Sensoren ausgestattet. Die eingesetzte standardisierte Softwareumgebung erlaubt dabei die Realisierung der verschiedenen Einsatzszenarien bei allen möglichen Systemkonfigurationen.

 

Wir haben Ihr Interesse geweckt?

Sie wollen mehr zu EMG iSCAN® wissen? Sie haben eigene Ideen zum Einsatz der EMG iSCAN® -Technologie? Kontaktieren Sie gerne jederzeit unsere Vertriebsorganisation oder auch unser EMG iSCAN® - Produktmanagement direkt unter: iscan@emg-automation.com und besuchen Sie unsere Webseite.

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies zur Verbesserung des Erlebnisses unserer Besucher. Indem Sie weiterhin auf dieser Webseite navigieren, erklären Sie sich mit unserer Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.

Einige dieser Cookies sind technisch zwingend notwendig, um gewisse Funktionen der Webseite zu gewährleisten.

Darüber hinaus verwenden wir einige Cookies, die dazu dienen, Informationen über das Benutzerverhalten auf dieser Webseite zu gewinnen und unsere Webseite auf Basis dieser Informationen stetig zu verbessern.