Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for more than 70 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!
03.04.2018

From BREIMO to EMG-Vivaldi®

SSAB and EMG: a partnership with potential

Since the end of 2016, SSAB has invested more than SEK 500 million (€51 million) in its Nordic production sites to support its growth strategy in the automotive industry, increase production stability and reduce energy consumption1.

At its Hämeenlinna site in Finland, SSAB produces cold-rolled, metallic- and colour-coated steel strips as well as thin-walled tubes and tubes for structural applications. The galvanized and painted strip products are delivered directly to customers in the automotive and construction industries.

In addition to the ongoing modernization of the first section of the pickling line until 2018, SSAB Hämeenlinna decided in 2017 to fundamentally renew the air knife technology for the hot-dip galvanizing line #3. The "integrated solution" based on the electromagnetic strip stabilization EMG eMASS® and the DUMA-BANDZINK blow-off nozzle technology Jet-Pro® is being implemented in this project as well.This makes SSAB the third EMG customer worldwide to use this technology. 

The hot-dip galvanizing line #3 from SSAB uses an EMG eMASS® system with six movable actuators (6-pole system), which automatically adapts to strip widths between 650 and 1550 mm. This "integrated solution" was installed at the end of 2017. 

The symbiosis of leading technologies already successfully used at voestalpine STAHL and thyssenkrupp Steel is characterized - as the production results from these first applications show - by outstanding results in terms of optimum coating quality and high production throughput.

But that's not all. As part of the above-mentioned investment project, SSAB opted for further strip guiding and QA solutions from EMG. The EMG-Vivaldi® strip position control system in the annealing furnace, the EMG SOLID® LIF oil layer measurement after the oiling machine in the exit section (measurement on both sides), which is based on laser-induced fluorescence spectroscopy, and the BREIMO strip width measurement before the decoiler are used here.

SSAB is thus one of the leading EMG technology and application partners. This consistent investment in EMG strip guiding systems and QA systems is both an incentive and a challenge for us. EMG is looking forward to the long-term continuation and expansion of this successful cooperation.

You want to know more about EMG and the EMG product portfolio? Do you have your own requirements and plans for strip guiding systems and/or quality assurance systems? Please feel free to contact our sales organization at any time or visit our website.

______________________________

1PRESS RELEASE SSAB October 31, 2016: https://www.ssab.com/globaldata/news-center/2016/10/31/11/39/ssab-invests-in-its-nordic-operations

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit mehr als 70 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!
03.04.2018

Von BREIMO bis EMG-Vivaldi®

SSAB und EMG: eine Partnerschaft mit Potenzial

SSAB investiert seit Ende 2016 mehr als 500 Millionen SEK (51 Mio. €) in seine nordischen Produktionsstandorte, um seine Wachstumsstrategie in der Automobilindustrie zu stützen, die Produktionsstabilität zu erhöhen und den Energieverbrauch zu senken1.

Am Standort Hämeenlinna, Finnland, produziert SSAB kaltgewalzte, metallisch- und farbbeschichtete Stahlbänder sowie dünnwandige Rohre und Rohre für Strukturanwendungen. Die galvanisierten und farbbeschichteten Bandprodukte werden dabei direkt an Kunden in der Automobil- und Bauindustrie geliefert.

Neben einer bis 2018 laufenden Modernisierung der ersten Sektion der Beizlinie hat sich SSAB Hämeenlinna in 2017 entschlossen, auch die Abblasdüsen-Technologie an der Feuerverzinkungslinie #3 grundlegend zu erneuern. Zum Einsatz kommt auch an dieser Stelle die „Integrierte Lösung“ aus der elektromagnetischen Bandstabilisierung EMG eMASS® und der DUMA-BANDZINK Abblasdüsen-Technologie Jet-Pro®. SSAB war damit weltweit der dritte EMG-Kunde, der auf diese Technologie gesetzt hat. 
An der Feuerverzinkungslinie #3 von SSAB kommt dabei ein EMG eMASS®-System mit sechs verfahrbaren Aktuatoren zum Einsatz (6-poliges System), welches sich Bandbreiten zwischen 650 bis 1550 mm automatisch anpasst. Die Installation dieser „Integrierten Lösung“ erfolgte Ende 2017.

Die schon bei der voestalpine STAHL und bei thyssenkrupp Steel erfolgreich eingesetzte Symbiose führender Technologien zeichnet sich – wie die Produktionsergebnisse aus diesen ersten Anwendungen zeigen – durch hervorragende Ergebnisse in Bezug auf eine optimale Beschichtungsqualität bei gleichzeitig hohem Produktionsdurchsatz aus.

Aber damit nicht genug. Im Rahmen des o.g. Investitionsprojekts entschied sich SSAB für weitere Bandlauf- und QS-Lösungen von EMG. Zum Einsatz kommen hier die Bandlagenregelung EMG-Vivaldi® im Glühofen, die auf laserinduzierter Fluoreszenzspektroskopie basierende Ölauflagenmessung EMG SOLID® LIF (beidseitige Messung) hinter der Einölmaschine im Auslauf sowie die Bandbreitenmessung BREIMO vor dem Aufhaspel.

SSAB ist damit einer der führenden EMG-Technologie- und Anwendungspartner. und dDiese konsequente Investition in EMG-Bandlaufregelungen und QS-Systeme ist für uns Ansporn und Herausforderung zugleich. EMG freut sich auf die langfristige Fortsetzung und Ausdehnung dieser erfolgreichen Kooperation.

Sie wollen mehr zu EMG und zum EMG-Produktportfolio wissen? Sie haben eigene Anforderungen und Pläne für Bandlaufregelungen und/oder qualitätssichernde Systeme? Dann kontaktieren Sie gerne jederzeit unsere Vertriebsorganisation oder besuchen Sie unsere Webseite.

______________________________

1PRESS RELEASE SSAB October 31, 2016: https://www.ssab.com/globaldata/news-center/2016/10/31/11/39/ssab-invests-in-its-nordic-operations