Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for more than 70 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!
11.06.2019

Trust and persistence in the Indian market:

Tata Steel Kalinganagar invests massively in EMG quality assurance and strip guiding solutions

Following the ramp-up of the Kalinganagar project and the start of expansion phase II in Odisha in 2018, Tata Steel plans to adjust its product mix in favor of the Automobiles and Branded Products segments as well as Retail & Solutions (BPRS). The share of the Automobiles segment is to increase from 13 % at present to 23 % following the phase II expansion. 

"Kalinganagar was designed as the world's most advanced steel mill and we are trying to get the most out of the facilities," Rajiv Kumar, Vice President, Operations, Tata Steel Kalinganagar told “The Economics Times” India mid last year. 

The cold rolling mill is designed for an annual production of 8 million tons of crude steel after expansion and will enable Tata Steel to produce outer skin elements for car bodies with the newest plant in order to maintain its market leadership among domestic suppliers to the automotive and household appliance industries.

As part of Tata's clear strategic focus on high-quality products, in April this year EMG received a wide-ranging order for the supply of QA and strip guiding systems from the plant manufacturer CMI, Belgium. The scope of supply includes almost the entire range of EMG QA solutions. Both galvanizing lines will be equipped with EMG eMASS® electromagnetic strip stabilization, which is specially adapted to the new generation of CMI air knives. On each of these lines and the new continuous annealing line, a double-sided online roughness measurement EMG SORM 3plus, an oil film measuring system based on infrared spectroscopy EMG SOLID® IR as well as online material testing EMG IMPOC will also be used, i.e. a total of 11 EMG QA systems as part of one project. In addition, all these lines are fully equipped with EMG strip guiding systems.

A success that does not fall from the sky!
This success is based on many years of intensive cooperation and consulting by EMG India. Since 2004, Tata Steel has been continuously advised and supported by the same "Key Account Manager" at EMG India. Smaller projects at various Tata locations in India offered the opportunity to test and evaluate the EMG technologies in detail against competitive offers. Technical seminars in the form of so-called "Quality Days", which were organized together with other European QA providers in the past for Tata and other Indian steel producers, also contributed to the in-depth knowledge of EMG solutions and confidence building. In addition, Tata Steel used its own contacts with the Tata Group's production sites in Europe to gain a comprehensive picture of the quality and performance of EMG products. 

The continuous expansion of the service and design capacities at EMG India, as mentioned in the previous article of this newsletter, further increased Tata's trust in a partnership with EMG. The positive result can easily be seen from the large scale project described here.

In this respect, EMG and EMG India are looking forward to the further cooperation of the Indian steel companies and guarantee continuous and good local support in every project with the full support of the headquarters in Germany.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time:
EMG Automation India Private Ltd., Thane - 400604, Maharashtra, Mr. Sachin Gujarathi, Tel. + 91 22 2580 1320 / 21, sachin.gujarathi@emg-india.com

More about EMG-QS systems and strip guiding systems can be found at any time:
https://www.emg-automation.com/en/automation/qualitaetssichernde-systeme/and https://www.emg-automation.com/en/automation/bandlaufregelungen/and on our YouTube channel.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit mehr als 70 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!
11.06.2019

Vertrauen und Ausdauer im indischen Markt:

Tata Steel Kalinganagar investiert massiv in EMG-QS- und -Bandlaufregelungslösungen

Nach dem Hochfahren des Projekts Kalinganagar und der im Jahr 2018 gestarteten Expansionsphase II in Odisha, plant Tata Steel eine Anpassung des Produktmixes zugunsten der Segmente Automobile und Markenprodukte sowie Retail & Solutions (BPRS). Der Anteil des Automobilsegments soll nach Abschluss der Phase-II-Erweiterung von derzeit 13 Prozent auf 23 Prozent steigen. 

"Kalinganagar wurde als das modernste Stahlwerk der Welt konzipiert und wir versuchen, das Beste aus den Anlagen herauszuholen." sagte Rajiv Kumar, Vice President, Operations, bei Tata Steel Kalinganagar der Zeitung “The Economics Times” India Mitte letzten Jahres. 

Das Kaltwalzwerk ist für eine jährliche Produktion von 8 Millionen Tonnen Rohstahl nach der Expansion ausgelegt und wird es Tata Steel ermöglichen, mit dem neuesten Werk Außenhautelemente für Automobilkarosserien zu produzieren, um die Marktführerschaft unter den inländischen Zulieferern der Automobil- und Haushaltsgeräteindustrie zu behalten.

Im Zuge dieser klaren strategischen Ausrichtung Tatas auf hochqualitative Produkte, erhielt EMG im April dieses Jahres über den Anlagenbauer CMI, Belgien, einen breit gefächerten Auftrag für die Lieferung von QS- und Bandlaufregelungssystemen. Der Lieferumfang enthält nahezu die gesamte Palette von EMG-QS-Lösungen. Beide Galvanisierungslinien werden mit einer elektromagnetischen Bandstabilisierung EMG eMASS® ausgestattet, die in besonderer Weise an die neue Düsengeneration von CMI adaptiert sind. An diesen Linien und der neuen kontinuierlichen Glühlinie kommen zusätzlich je ein doppelseitiges Online-Rauheitsmessung EMG SORM 3plus, ein auf Infrarotspektroskopie beruhendes Ölauflagenmesssystem EMG SOLID® IR sowie die Online-Materialprüfung EMG IMPOC zum Einsatz, also summa summarum 11 EMG-QS-Systeme als Teil eines Projekts. Hinzu kommt die Vollausstattung aller genannten Linien mit EMG-Bandlaufregelungen.

Ein Erfolg der nicht vom Himmel fällt!
Basis dieses Erfolges für EMG ist eine langjährige intensive Zusammenarbeit und Beratung des Endkunden durch EMG India. Seit 2004 wird Tata Steel kontinuierlich durch den gleichen “Key Account Manager” bei EMG India beraten und unterstützt. Kleinere Projekte bei verschiedenen indischen Standorten von Tata boten die Möglichkeit, die EMG-Technologien ausführlich gegenüber Wettbewerbslösungen zu testen und zu bewerten. Auch technische Seminare in der Form von sogenannten “Quality Days”, die zusammen mit anderen europäischen QS-System-Anbietern in der Vergangenheit für Tata und andere indische Stahlhersteller organisiert worden sind, trugen zur tiefen Kenntnis der EMG-Lösungen und Vertrauensbildung bei. Zudem nutzte Tata Steel die eigenen Kontakte zu Produktionsstandorten der Tata-Gruppe in Europa und konnte sich damit ein umfassendes Bild zu Qualität und Leistungsfähigkeit der EMG-Produkte erarbeiten. 

Durch den kontinuierlichen Ausbau der, wie schon im vorangegangenen Artikel dieses Newsletters erwähnten, Service- und Konstruktionskapazitäten bei EMG India stieg das Vertrauen von Tata in eine Partnerschaft mit EMG weiter an. Das positive Ergebnis lässt sich unschwer aus dem hier beschriebenen Großprojekt ablesen.

EMG und EMG India freuen sich insofern auf die weitere Zusammenarbeit mit den indischen Stahlunternehmen und sichern in jedem Projekt eine kontinuierliche und gute Betreuung vor Ort und mit voller Unterstützung des Headquarters in Deutschland zu.

Sprechen Sie uns jederzeit gerne an:
EMG Automation India Private Ltd., Thane – 400604, Maharashtra, Mr. Sachin Gujarathi, Tel. + 91 22 2580 1320 / 21, sachin.gujarathi@emg-india.com

Mehr zu EMG-QS-Systemen und Bandlaufregelungen jederzeit auch unter: https://www.emg-automation.com/automation/qualitaetssichernde-systeme/ und https://www.emg-automation.com/automation/bandlaufregelungen/ sowie in unserem YouTube-Kanal.