Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for 75 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!

16.03.2020

Sample analysis in the IMPOC test stand

How does it work? And when does it make sense?

IMPOC teststand at EMG

In discussions with users, we are often confronted with the question under which circumstances preliminary sample examinations with the EMG IMPOC online material testing system are useful and how they are carried out in a test stand at EMG in Germany? 

In the forefront to new system installations, sample testing at EMG in Germany is generally not necessary. Today the system covers a wide range of steel grades. This includes bake-hardening and high-strength IF steels, micro-alloyed and various multiphase steels. Only in the case of complex phases and high-strength steels above approx. 900 megapascals can sample analyses be useful in individual cases. Sample examinations are also necessary for strip thicknesses outside the specification for the PowerIMPOC version, i.e. for thicknesses above 6 mm.

The video "EMG Technology nugget - sample tests in the EMG IMPOC test stand in Germany", recently published on our YouTube channel, addresses these questions and impressively shows how sample tests are carried out in the test stand. The viewer "rides" through the test stand on the sample, so to speak, and the performance of the system becomes tangible experienced. The test stand allows the samples to be moved between the IMPOC heads on top and bottom side at a speed of up to 600 m/min. During each measurement, the sample is first automatically demagnetized, so that no falsification of the measurement result occurs. In the second part of the video it is shown that for research and development purposes 3D measurements of the magnetic field can also be carried out using a Hall probe in the same test station. 

But see for yourself: https://youtu.be/vvYb6RD1IlI

To sum up:

  • With about 70 installations worldwide, EMG IMPOC is the only industrially proven and reliable measuring system for non-destructive online material testing of flat steel. 
  • The models formed so far for the use of EMG IMPOC cover a wide range of materials including the latest generation of high-strength steels.
  • The system is used on pickling, hot-dip galvanizing and annealing lines and increasingly on press and blanking lines in the automotive industry. 
  • EMG offers all necessary services for this system, the transfer of know-how and all necessary preliminary investigations within the scope of the individual project. 

Are you curious? Would you like to know more about EMG IMPOC and the associated application possibilities?

Please feel free to contact our sales department, our international sales organization or our product manager Matthias Bärwald (matthias.baerwald@emg-automation.com).

Further information can also be found in the EMG IMPOC brochure.

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Some cookies on this site are essential, and the site won't work as expected without them. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking on simple links.

We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of the site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features of the site may be unavailable.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit 75 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!

16.03.2020

Probenuntersuchungen im IMPOC-Teststand

Wie funktioniert das? Und wann macht das Sinn?

IMPOC-Teststand bei EMG

Oft werden wir in der Diskussion mit Anwendern mit der Frage konfrontiert, unter welchen Umständen Probenvoruntersuchungen mit dem Online-Materialprüfungssystem EMG IMPOC sinnvoll sind und wie sie in einem Teststand bei EMG in Deutschland durchgeführt werden?

Im Vorfeld von neuen Systeminstallationen sind Probenuntersuchungen bei EMG in Deutschland im Allgemeinen nicht erforderlich. Das System deckt heute ein weites Spektrum von Stahlsorten ab. Dies schließt unter anderem Bake Hardening und hochfeste IF-Stähle, mikrolegierte und verschiedene Mehrphasenstähle mit ein. Lediglich bei Komplexphasen und hochfesten Stählen oberhalb von ca. 900 Megapascal können Probenuntersuchungen im Einzelfall sinnvoll sein. Auch bei Banddicken außerhalb der Spezifikation für die Ausführung PowerIMPOC, also bei Dicken oberhalb von 6 mm, sind Probenuntersuchungen erforderlich.

Das kürzlich in unserem YouTube-Kanal veröffentlichte Video “EMG Technology nugget – sample tests in the EMG IMPOC test stand in Germany“ geht auf diese Fragen ein und zeigt eindrucksvoll, wie die Probenuntersuchungen im Teststand durchgeführt werden. Der Zuschauer „reitet“ sozusagen auf der Probe durch den Teststand und die Leistungsfähigkeit der Anlage wird somit erfahrbar. Der Teststand erlaubt es, die Proben mit einer Geschwindigkeit bis zur 600 m/min zwischen den IMPOC-Köpfen auf Ober- und Unterseite durchzufahren. Bei jeder Messung wird die Probe zunächst automatisch entmagnetisiert, sodass keine Verfälschung des Messergebnisses erfolgt. Im zweiten Teil des Videos wird gezeigt, dass zu Forschungs- und Entwicklungszwecken auch 3D-Messungen des Magnetfeldes mittels einer Hallsonde im gleichen Teststand durchgeführt werden können. 

Aber sehen Sie selbst: https://youtu.be/vvYb6RD1IlI

Zusammenfassend gilt:

  • EMG IMPOC ist weltweit mit etwa 70 Installationen das einzige industriell erprobte und betriebssichere Messsystem zur berührungslosen Online-Materialprüfung bei Flachstahl. 
  • Die bisher für den Einsatz von EMG IMPOC gebildeten Modelle bilden ein breites Material-Spektrum einschließlich höherfester Stähle der neuesten Generation ab.
  • Das System wird an Beiz-, Feuerverzinkungs- und Glühlinien sowie zunehmend an Press- und Stanzlinien in der Automobilindustrie eingesetzt. 
  • EMG bietet zu diesem System alle notwendigen Dienstleistungen, den Know-how-Transfer und alle erforderlichen Voruntersuchungen im Rahmen des individuellen Projektes an. 

Neugierig geworden? Sie wollen  mehr zu EMG IMPOC und den damit verbundenen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten wissen?

Kontaktieren Sie gerne jederzeit direkt unseren Vertrieb, unsere internationale Vertriebsorganisation oder auch unseren Produktmanager  Matthias Bärwald (matthias.baerwald@emg-automation.com).

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auch in der EMG IMPOC Broschüre.

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies zur Verbesserung des Erlebnisses unserer Besucher. Indem Sie weiterhin auf dieser Webseite navigieren, erklären Sie sich mit unserer Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.

Einige dieser Cookies sind technisch zwingend notwendig, um gewisse Funktionen der Webseite zu gewährleisten.

Darüber hinaus verwenden wir einige Cookies, die dazu dienen, Informationen über das Benutzerverhalten auf dieser Webseite zu gewinnen und unsere Webseite auf Basis dieser Informationen stetig zu verbessern.