Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for 75 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!

16.03.2020

Power IMPOC at the pickling line at CSC in Kaohsiung

A special environment

China Steel Corporation (CSC), based in Kaohsiung, Taiwan, was founded in December 1971. With an annual production (in the form of crude steel) of around 10 million tons, CSC manufactures a wide range of products including sheet, bar, wire rod, hot- and cold-rolled, electro-galvanized and hot-dip galvanized strip, electrical steel and Ti/Ni-based alloys. The domestic market accounts for approximately 70 % of CSC's production and the remaining 30 % is exported. CSC is the largest steel company in Taiwan and accounts for more than 50 % of the domestic market.

CSC has a very innovative structure and a strong ability to put innovation into practice. The company's vision is: "We aspire to be a trustworthy steel company of global distinction that pursues growth, environmental protection, energy saving and value-innovation.”1 This vision is actively implemented by investing in modern quality assurance solutions. 

In the production of hot-rolled strip, which is delivered directly to end customers or processed internally, a continuous pickling and oiling line coupled with a skin pass mill is used. The strips to be produced have high accuracy requirements with regard to material strength values. In this context, an EMG IMPOC system was successfully transferred to production operation at the pickling line in the last quarter of 2019.

What are now the greatest challenges for the operation of the EMG IMPOC online material testing system on a pickling line?

In general, there are two main critical points at pickling lines that influence the use of an online material testing solution at this point. These are on the one hand the high strip thickness and on the other hand the production-related, unstable strip run with respect to passline deviations. Today, only EMG IMPOC in the power version (particularly strong magnetic field) is able to successfully measure strips in thickness ranges up to 6 mm and at speeds up to 600 m/min. Due to the comparatively high measuring distance of 50 mm (between the two heads), the system can also be used at the pickling line with uneven strip running. 

The picture shows the nevertheless narrow installation situation (top side) at the POL line at CSC. Even though the steel piping and supports are relatively close to the measuring heads, reliable measuring operation is possible. 

A special feature of this project is, that CSC is not only interested in the relative change in tensile strength and yield strength for two steel groups with 440 and 590 MPa, but also in the measurement of absolute values. For the purpose of the corresponding model development, the sampling was moved to the middle of the strip length for a certain time, since in normal operation the samples are taken in the zone of the weld seam. At these transition zones, however, the IMPOC system is driven out of the production line for safety reasons and thus a correct length allocation between destructive sampling and IMPOC measurement would then be impossible.

Today, specially developed models for the absolute measurement of the strength values are available for the  steel grades mentioned above. For the remaining other materials standard coefficients are used, which allow an exact statement about the relative changes of tensile strength and yield strength in MPa over strip length.

The successful project work in the team consisting of CSC, the EMG representative TECH RISING Industries Co, Ltd. as installation partner and EMG in Germany has meanwhile led to a further order for an EMG IMPOC system for the CGL #2 in Kaohsiung, which will be delivered this year.

Conclusion: EMG IMPOC in the power version is the only online material testing system for strength values worldwide that can also be safely used on pickling lines. During the project planning certain constructive basic conditions regarding the installation and protection of the system must be considered. This also applies to the possibly particularly acid-resistant versions of control cabinets and connectors. By using standard coefficients (IMPOCexpress), the relative changes in tensile strength and yield strength in MPa over strip length can be measured very accurately even without specific modelling. The user decides in each individual case to what extent special model developmentss are useful and necessary. The future user discusses all these questions in detail with EMG's experts prior to system procurement and installation. Innovations can thus be safely implemented in practice.

Would you like to know more about EMG IMPOC and the associated application possibilities also at the pickling line? Please feel free to contact our sales department, our international sales organization or our product manager Matthias Bärwald (matthias.baerwald@emg-automation.com).

Further information can also be found in the EMG IMPOC brochure.

________________________________________

1https://www.csc.com.tw/csc_e/ch/ifo/ifo.html (10.3.2020)

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Some cookies on this site are essential, and the site won't work as expected without them. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking on simple links.

We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of the site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features of the site may be unavailable.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit mehr als 70 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!
16.03.2020

Power IMPOC an der Beize bei CSC in Kaohsiung

Ein spezielles Umfeld

Die China Steel Corporation (CSC) mit Sitz in Kaohsiung, Taiwan, wurde im Dezember 1971 gegründet. Mit einer Jahresproduktion (in Form von Rohstahl) von rund 10 Millionen Tonnen stellt CSC eine breite Palette von Produkten her, darunter Bleche, Stäbe, Walzdraht, warm- und kaltgewalzte, galvanisch verzinkte und feuerverzinkte Bänder, Elektroband und Ti/Ni-Basislegierungen. Der Inlandsmarkt macht etwa 70 % der Produktion von CSC aus, und die restlichen 30 % werden exportiert. CSC ist das größte Stahlunternehmen Taiwans und macht mehr als 50 % des Inlandsmarktes aus.

CSC ist sehr innovativ aufgestellt und besitzt eine starke Fähigkeit, Innovationen in die Praxis umzusetzen. Die Vision des Unternehmens lautet: "Wir streben danach, ein vertrauenswürdiges Stahlunternehmen von globaler Bedeutung zu sein, das Wachstum, Umweltschutz, Energieeinsparung und Wertinnovation anstrebt.” 1 Diese Vision wird aktiv durch Investitionen in moderne qualitätssichernde Lösungen umgesetzt. 

Bei der Produktion von warmgewalzten Bändern, die direkt an Endkunden ausgeliefert oder intern weiterverarbeitet werden, kommt unter anderem eine kontinuierliche Beiz- und Beölungsline zum Einsatz, die mit einem Dressiergerüst gekoppelt ist. Die zu produzierenden Bänder weisen hohe Genauigkeitsanforderungen in Bezug auf die Materialfestigkeitswerte auf. In diesem Zusammenhang wurde im letzten Quartal 2019 ein EMG IMPOC-System erfolgreich an der Beizlinie in den Produktionsbetrieb übernommen.

Was sind nun die größten Herausforderungen für den Betrieb des Online-Materialprüfungssystems EMG IMPOC an einer Beizlinie?

Generell gibt es an Beizlinien zwei wesentliche kritische Punkte, die den Einsatz einer Online-Materialprüfungs-Lösung an dieser Stelle beeinflussen. Das sind einerseits die hohe Banddicke und andererseits der produktionsbedingte, unruhige Bandlauf. Heute ist weltweit nur EMG IMPOC in der Power-Ausführung (besonders starkes Magnetfeld) in der Lage, Bänder in Dickenbereichen bis 6 mm und bei Geschwindigkeiten bis 600 m/min erfolgreich zu messen. Aufgrund des vergleichsweise hohen Messabstandes von 50 mm (zwischen den beiden Köpfen) ist das System auch an der Beize bei unruhigem Bandlauf einsetzbar. 

Das Bild zeigt die dennoch enge Einbausituation (Oberseite) an der POL-Linie bei CSC. Trotz relativ nahe an den Messköpfen liegenden Stahlverrohrungen und -trägern, ist ein sicherer Messbetrieb möglich. 

Eine Besonderheit dieses Projektes ist, dass CSC neben der relativen Änderung der Zugfestigkeit und Streckgrenze für zwei Stahlgruppen mit 440 und 590 MPa auch an der Messung der Absolutwerte interessiert ist. Zum Zweck der entsprechenden Modellentwicklung wurde die Probenentnahme für eine gewisse Zeit auf die Mitte der Bandlänge verlegt, da im Normalbetrieb die Proben in der Zone der Schweißnaht entnommen werden. An diesen Übergangszonen wird aber das IMPOC-System aus Sicherheitsgründen aus der Anlage gefahren und somit wäre dann eine korrekte Längenzuordnung zwischen zerstörender Beprobung und IMPOC-Messung unmöglich.

Heute stehen somit für die o.g. Stahlsorten speziell entwickelte Modelle zur Absolutmessung der Festigkeitswerte zur Verfügung und für die verbleibenden anderen Materialien kommen Standardkoeffizienten zum Einsatz, die eine genaue Aussage über die relativen Änderungen von Zugfestigkeit und Streckgrenze in MPa über Bandlänge erlauben.

Die erfolgreiche Projektarbeit im Team aus CSC, der EMG-Vertretung TECH RISING Industries Co., Ltd. als Installationspartner und EMG in Deutschland führte inzwischen zu einer weiteren Bestellung eines EMG IMPOC-Systems für die CGL #2 in Kaohsiung, welches in diesem Jahr ausgeliefert wird.

Fazit: EMG IMPOC ist in der Power-Ausführung weltweit das einzige Online-Materialprüfungssystem für Festigkeitswerte, das auch an Beizlinien sicher eingesetzt werden kann. Bei der Projektplanung sind bestimmte konstruktive Grundbedingungen in Bezug auf den Einbau und Schutz des Systems zu beachten. Dies trifft auch auf unter Umständen besonders säurefeste Ausführungen von Schaltschränken und Anschlusssteckern zu. Durch den Einsatz von Standardkoeffizienten (IMPOCexpress) können auch ohne spezifische Modellbildung die relativen Änderungen von Zugfestigkeit und Streckgrenze in MPa über Bandlänge sehr genau gemessen werden. Inwieweit spezielle Modellbildungen sinnvoll und notwendig sind, entscheidet im Einzelfall der Anwender. All diese Fragen bespricht der zukünftige Nutzer im Vorfeld der Systembeschaffung und -installation ausführlich mit den Fachleuten der EMG. Innovationen werden somit sicher in der Praxis umsetzbar.

Sie wollen mehr zu EMG IMPOC und den damit verbundenen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten auch an der Beize wissen? Kontaktieren Sie gerne jederzeit direkt unseren Vertrieb, unsere internationale Vertriebsorganisation oder auch unseren Produktmanager Matthias Bärwald (matthias.baerwald@emg-automation.com).

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auch in der EMG IMPOC Broschüre.

________________________________________

1https://www.csc.com.tw/csc_e/ch/ifo/ifo.html (10.3.2020)

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies zur Verbesserung des Erlebnisses unserer Besucher. Indem Sie weiterhin auf dieser Webseite navigieren, erklären Sie sich mit unserer Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.

Einige dieser Cookies sind technisch zwingend notwendig, um gewisse Funktionen der Webseite zu gewährleisten.

Darüber hinaus verwenden wir einige Cookies, die dazu dienen, Informationen über das Benutzerverhalten auf dieser Webseite zu gewinnen und unsere Webseite auf Basis dieser Informationen stetig zu verbessern.