Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for 75 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!

17.07.2018

Demand for EMG Quality Assurance Solutions in the US

EMG USA is currently seeing a peak in investing in new lines and revamps, not seen for decades.

The two keywords ‘demand’ and ‘awareness” are playing a major role in increased investments in quality assurance products in the coil making process or even further down the line in the processing centers or forming lines especially in the US metals industry.

Clearly the times are over where defective coils are just sent back and get replaced with new ones. The cost for each party involved from making until shaping of coils is meanwhile more than just a competitive disadvantage, its about reputation as well. There is a race going on in who is supplying the best material and the slow ones will get filtered out. 

EMG USA is currently seeing a peak in investing in new lines and revamps, not seen for decades. There is a necessity in upgrading and new lines for sure, based on the demands for example of the automotive industry. Any potential defect or processing errors need to be caught before the coil enters the forming press. Critical data essential for proper forming of class A products, like surface roughness, oil layer and mechanical material properties can be measured up front and the coils get tagged properly. The corresponding EMG quality assurance systems can easily be installed in line at the mill, the processing center or as a control device in the automotive line. 

But not just the demand from end customers and pushing the producers to invest in quality assurance products is a key player for more quality awareness. There is also a general change in the understanding and the will to produce top notch quality that is competitive worldwide. Listening to many voices in the industry, there is one conception, we need to increase the quality of our products, monitor the process better and produce prime products. In order to do so, investments are necessary. 

Good examples for such investments are firstly the recent order from PRO-TEC in an IMPOC material property measuring system. In order to avoid yield and tensile values that are out of spec, PRO-TEC can monitor the actual coil in real time on-line, react to discrepancies, make necessary changes for example in furnace temperature and avoid costly rework or even sending out of spec coils to customers. Another benefit is cost saving that tail along with quality monitoring. This investment reflects PRO-TECs commitment for the automotive industry. The company invested more than $400 million in PRO-TEC’s Continuous Annealing Line to produce strong, highly formable steel that enables automakers to fabricate lightweight parts with increased strength1.

Secondly Nucor Steel Decatur just invested in an EMG eMASS® strip stabilizer system. Homogeneous coating for an even layer and coating weight control can affect various parts of unwanted quality cost and just think about the current zinc pricing. This reflects Nucor’s own commitment to “be the safest, highest quality, lowest cost, most productive and most profitable steel and steel products company in the world.”2 

According to our calculation ROI for EMG eMASS® is very often less than a year just in zinc savings, not adding rework, complaints and other cost factors (see also: Reducing over coating – saving zinc with EMG eMASS®).

EMG and EMG USA also see strong movement in the aluminum industry. Protective oil layers or specific oil film thicknesses are essential to ensure proper end results in the forming process. The “GO-TO application” for not just the aluminum industry is the on-line real time measuring of the applied oil layer via the EMG SOLID® system. Traversing across the coil, the user will get a precise feedback on the oil layer and can make necessary adjustments right away.

You want to learn more about EMGs Quality Assurance systems? You need personal support and consultancy in the US or elsewhere?

Please don’t hesitate to contact our sales and service team at EMG USA (patric.jobst@emg-automation.com)  or our international sales organization.

__________________________________________________________

1https://www.proteccoating.com/why-pro-tec/the-pro-tec-difference/

2http://www.nucor.com/story/mission/

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Some cookies on this site are essential, and the site won't work as expected without them. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking on simple links.

We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of the site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features of the site may be unavailable.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit mehr als 70 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!
17.07.2018

Hohe Nachfrage für EMG-QS-Lösungen in den USA

Die EMG USA erlebt derzeit einen seit Jahrzehnten nicht mehr gesehenen Höhepunkt bei Investitionen in neue Anlagen.

Die beiden Stichworte "Nachfrage" und "(Qualitäts)Bewusstsein" spielen eine wichtige Rolle bei den verstärkten Investitionen in Qualitätssicherungsprodukte in der Kaltwalzindustrie  oder in den Weiterverarbeitungs- oder Umformanlagen, besonders in der US-Metallindustrie.

Es ist offensichtlich, dass die Zeiten vorbei sind, in denen defekte Coils einfach zurückgeschickt und durch neue ersetzt werden. Die Kosten für jeden Beteiligten - von der Herstellung bis zur Umformung der Bänder - sind mittlerweile mehr als nur ein Wettbewerbsnachteil, es geht auch um den Ruf. Es findet ein Rennen statt in Bezug auf die Frage, wer das beste Material liefert.

Die EMG USA erlebt derzeit einen seit Jahrzehnten nicht mehr gesehenen Höhepunkt bei Investitionen in neue Anlagen und Umbauten. Es gibt eine Notwendigkeit für die Modernisierung und für neue Anlagen, die sich an den Anforderungen beispielsweise der Automobilindustrie orientiert. Eventuelle Produktions- oder Verarbeitungsfehler müssen erkannt werden, bevor das Band in die Umformpresse gelangt. Kritische Daten, die für die korrekte Umformung von Produkten der Güteklasse A unerlässlich sind, wie Oberflächenrauheit, Ölschicht und mechanische Eigenschaften, können im Vorfeld gemessen und so die Bänder korrekt gekennzeichnet werden. Die entsprechenden EMG-Qualitätssicherungssysteme können problemlos in der Linie im Werk, im Weiterverarbeitungszentrum oder als Messinstrument in der automobilen Presslinie installiert werden. 

Aber nicht nur die Nachfrage der Endkunden und der Druck auf die Hersteller, in Qualitätssicherungsprodukte zu investieren, ist ein Schlüsselfaktor für mehr Qualitätsbewusstsein. Auch das Verständnis und der Wille, Spitzenqualität zu produzieren, die weltweit konkurrenzfähig ist, ändern sich generell. Wenn man sich viele Stimmen in der USA Stahlbranche anhört, gibt es ein klares Konzept: Wir müssen die Qualität unserer Produkte erhöhen, den Prozess besser überwachen und erstklassige Produkte herstellen. Dazu sind Investitionen notwendig.

Ein gutes Beispiel für solche Investitionen ist zum einen der jüngste Auftrag von PRO-TEC über ein IMPOC-Materialeigenschafts-Messsystem. EMG IMPOC erkennt sicher Zugfestigkeits- und Streckgrenzenwerte, die außerhalb der Spezifikation liegen. PRO-TEC kann mit IMPOC das aktuelle Band in Echtzeit online überwachen, auf Abweichungen reagieren, notwendige Änderungen z.B. bei der Ofentemperatur vornehmen und kostspielige Nacharbeiten oder gar den Versand von fehlerhaften Bänder an Kunden vermeiden. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist die Kostenersparnis und die Qualitätsüberwachung. Diese Investition spiegelt das Engagement von PRO-TEC für die Automobilindustrie wider. Das Unternehmen investierte mehr als 400 Millionen Dollar in seine  kontinuierliche Glühlinie, um festen, hochumformbaren Stahl herzustellen, der es den Automobilherstellern ermöglicht, leichte Teile mit erhöhter Festigkeit herzustellen1.

Zum anderen hat Nucor Steel Decatur gerade in ein EMG eMASS® Bandstabilisierungssystem investiert. Eine homogene Beschichtung für eine gleichmäßige Schicht- und Beschichtungsgewichtskontrolle kann verschiedene Elemente der unerwünschten Qualitätskosten positiv beeinflussen und man denke nur an den aktuellen Zinkpreis. Nach unserer Berechnung liegt der ROI für EMG eMASS® sehr oft unter einem Jahr allein über die Zinkeinsparung, ohne Nacharbeit, Reklamationen und andere Kostenfaktoren zu berücksichtigen (siehe auch: Reduzierung der Überbeschichtung - Einsparung von Zink mit EMG eMASS®).

Die Investition in EMG eMASS® spiegelt also Nucors eigene Verpflichtung wider, "das sicherste, qualitativ hochwertigste, kostengünstigste, produktivste und profitabelste Stahl- und Stahlproduktunternehmen der Welt zu sein"2.

EMG und EMG USA sehen ebenfalls eine starke Belebung in der Aluminiumindustrie. Ölschutzschichten oder spezifische Ölfilmdicken sind für ein einwandfreies Endergebnis im Umformprozess unerlässlich. Die "Anwendung der Wahl" nicht nur für die Aluminiumindustrie ist die Online-Echtzeitmessung der aufgetragenen Ölschicht mit Hilfe des EMG SOLID®-Systems. Durch das kontinuierliche Scannen der Bänder erhält der Anwender eine präzise Rückmeldung über die tatsächliche Schmierstoffschicht und kann sofort die notwendigen Einstellungen im Prozess vornehmen.

Sie möchten mehr über EMGs Qualitätssicherungssysteme erfahren? Sie benötigen persönliche Unterstützung und Beratung in den USA oder anderswo?

Bitte zögern Sie nicht, unser Vertriebs- und Serviceteam bei EMG USA (patric.jobst@emg-automation.com) oder unsere internationale Vertriebsorganisation zu kontaktieren.

__________________________________________________________

1https://www.proteccoating.com/why-pro-tec/the-pro-tec-difference/

2http://www.nucor.com/story/mission/