flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions


The company EMG –

a reliable employer for more than 70 years!


to optimise your process and product quality!

EMG hotCAM: confirmed operational readiness & new orders

EMG hotCAM has proven its value in the daily production

EMG hotCAM: encapsulated camera module

We last reported on the online measuring system EMG hotCAM about two years ago. In the meantime, the system has proven its value in the daily production and it therefore seems sensible to summarise the essential points that speak in favour of using an optical system for measuring the position of the moving strip in the hot rolling mill.

For the process reliability in a hot rolling mill, it is extremely important to maintain a defined position of the strip between the rolling stands. In this respect, the constant online measurement of the strip position enables an optimised adjustment of rolling force and gap.

The continuous control of the centre position in the finishing line also reduces the occurrence of cobbles, which lead to serious damage and production stops. In reversing stands, an optimised control of the rolling force and the rolling gap leads to a reduction of the camber and thus to the avoidance of collisions between the strip and the mechanical strip guidance of the roller table.
Knowledge of the strip position between all or at least several stands is therefore crucial for the smooth operation of a hot rolling mill.

What is EMG hotCAM all about?

EMG hotCAM is exceptional in two respects in terms of technical know-how. On the one hand, this applies to camera technology, because CMOS (Complementary Metal-Oxide-Semiconductor) area scan cameras are used. CMOS cameras are insensitive to the so-called "blooming effect" (overload of sensor sensitivity and response of adjacent pixels) and deliver good images under a wide variety of lighting conditions. The camera is completely encapsulated in a housing flooded with compressed air. The compressed air ensures a "continuous flushing" of the lens via a specially designed airflow control block (3D print). The lens area is automatically closed as soon as no compressed air is available. This means that regular cleaning of the lens is not necessary even under very harsh environmental conditions.

On the other hand, specially developed algorithms in the software ensure that even image sequences with disturbances due to environmental influences can be processed correctly and that correct strip edge detection is possible. Only the thermal radiation of the strip is taken into account. This results in an image of the band, which stands out clearly and rich in contrast to its surroundings, i.e. compared to the infrared radiation of the band/slab, the environment is dark.

And does it all work successfully?

After more than 5 years of operation at the DSP1 hot rolling mill near TATA in Ijmuiden, the Netherlands, all doubts have been dispelled. The system is now being installed on the second hot strip mill at TATA Ijmuiden, has been running successfully for more than two years at thyssenkrupp Steel in Bochum and will soon be used at Baosteel Meishan, China. EMG hotCAM users usually equip at least 3 stands of a finishing line with camera modules. In some cases, however, 7 or 8 stands are equipped with cameras in a finishing line.

You want to know more about EMG hotCAM? Perhaps you have completely different ideas for using the hotCAM technology? Please feel free to contact our sales organisation or our product management directly under:, visit our website or have a look at our hotCAM video.


1Direct Sheet Plant

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit mehr als 70 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!
21.02.2018

EMG hotCAM: Einsatzfähigkeit bestätigt und neue Aufträge

EMG hotCAM bewährt sich im täglichen Produktionseinsatz

EMG hotCAM: gekapseltes Kameramodul

Über das Online-Messsystem EMG hotCAM haben wir zuletzt vor ca. zwei Jahren berichtet. In der Zwischenzeit hat sich das System im tagtäglichen Produktionseinsatz bewährt und es erscheint somit sinnvoll, die wesentlichen Punkte, die für den Einsatz eines optischen Systems zur Positionsmessung des sich bewegenden Bandes im Warmwalzwerk sprechen, zusammenzufassen.

Für die Prozesssicherheit in einem Warmwalzwerk ist u.a. die Einhaltung einer definierten Position des Bandes zwischen den Walzgerüsten enorm wichtig. Die durchgängige Online-Messung der Bandposition ermöglicht eine optimierte Einstellung von Walzkraft und -spalt.

Die kontinuierliche Regelung der Mittenposition in der Fertigstraße verringert zudem das Auftreten von Bandhochgehern (sogenannten „Cobbles“), die zu ernsthaften Schäden und Produktionsstopps führen. In Reversiergerüsten führt eine optimierte Regelung der Walzkraft und des Walzspaltes zu einer Reduzierung des Bandsäbels und somit zur Vermeidung von Kollisionen des Bandes mit der mechanischen Bandführung des Rollgangs.
 
Für den reibungslosen Betrieb einer Warmwalzstraße ist somit die Kenntnis der Bandposition zwischen allen oder zumindest mehreren Gerüsten entscheidend.

Was steckt hinter EMG hotCAM?

EMG hotCAM ist in zwei Punkten mit Bezug auf das technische Know-how außergewöhnlich. Dies betrifft auf der einen Seite die Kameratechnologie. Zum Einsatz kommen CMOS (Complementary Metal–Oxide–Semiconductor) Flächenkameras. CMOS-Kameras sind unempfindlich gegenüber dem sogenannten „Blooming Effekt“ (Übersteuerung der Sensorempfindlichkeit und Ansprechen benachbarter Pixel) und liefern gute Bilder unter unterschiedlichsten Lichtbedingungen. Die Kamera ist in einem mit Druckluft durchströmten Gehäuse komplett gekapselt. Die Druckluft sorgt, über einen speziell designten Luftströmungsführungs-Block (3D-Druck), für eine „kontinuierliche Spülung“ des Objektivs. Der Objektivbereich wird automatisch geschlossen, sobald keine Druckluft zur Verfügung steht. Somit ist auch bei sehr harten Umgebungsbedingungen keine regelmäßige Reinigung des Objektivs erforderlich.

Auf der anderen Seite sorgen speziell entwickelte Algorithmen in der Software dafür, dass auch Bildsequenzen, die Störungen durch Umgebungseinflüsse aufweisen, sauber verarbeitet werden können und eine korrekte Bandkantendetektion möglich ist. Hierbei wird nur die Wärmestrahlung des Bandes berücksichtigt. Das führt zu einer Abbildung des Bandes, welche sich deutlich und kontrastreich von der Umgebung abhebt. Im Vergleich zur Infrarotstrahlung des Bandes/der Bramme ist die Umgebung dunkel.

Und funktioniert das Ganze erfolgreich?

Nach inzwischen mehr als 5-jährigem Einsatz an der DSP1-Warmbandstraße bei TATA in Ijmuiden, Niederlande, sind alle Zweifel ausgeräumt. Das System wird nunmehr an der zweiten Warmbreitbandstraße bei TATA Ijmuiden installiert, läuft seit mehr als zwei Jahren erfolgreich bei thyssenkrupp Steel in Bochum und wird in Kürze bei Baosteel Meishan, China, zum Einsatz kommen. EMG hotCAM-Anwender rüsten in der Regel mindestens 3 Gerüste einer Fertigstraße mit Kameramodulen aus. Teilweise werden aber auch 7 oder 8 Gerüste in einer Linie mit Kameras bestückt.

Sie wollen mehr zu EMG hotCAM wissen? Sie haben vielleicht ganz andere Ideen zum Einsatz der hotCAM-Technologie? Kontaktieren Sie gerne jederzeit unsere Vertriebsorganisation oder auch unser Produktmanagement direkt unter: guido.eichert@emg-automation.com, besuchen Sie unsere Webseite oder schauen Sie sich unseren hotCAM-Film an.

___________________________________________

1Direct Sheet Plant