Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for 75 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!

02.06.2021

EMG strip guiding systems: Know-how for users - 09

Inductive centre measurement in wet sections, e.g. for pickling lines

Schematic illustration of IMR strip centre measurement in wet environments with coils in protective pipes and handles for positioning

In this and the following articles in this series, we summarise know-how on the use of EMG strip guiding systems and try to provide you with the necessary basics for planning the components that can be used and for designing the systems.

Published so far: 

 

Inductive centre measurement in wet sections, e.g. for pickling lines 

Use and application:

In aggressive and humid environments, such as strip pickling or rinsing lines with medium temperatures up to 80 °C, the inductive strip centre measurement IMR detects the strip centre position of metal strips and metal foils with an accuracy of ±5 mm. The system is completely maintenance-free and suitable for use with acid vapours and liquids.

Realisation:

In the IMR, four encapsulated coils are inserted into two medium-resistant, non-metallic protective pipes that run through the container above and below the strip. This provides the sensor system with the best possible protection against environmental influences. 

Two coils in one pipe act as transmitters, while the other two act as receivers. The coils are installed in such a way that each transmitter faces the corresponding receiver, with the active measuring surfaces facing the strip and the measuring ranges of the coils arranged symmetrically to the system axis. The smallest and largest strip widths should not exceed the measuring ranges of the coils. The IMR coils are encapsulated and surrounded by a C-shaped stainless steel plate that is open to the strip. For positioning and removing the coils inside the protective pipes, they are provided with handles of application-specific length. The maximum cable length from the coils to the evaluation electronics is 15 m.

Due to the inductive measuring method, typical ambient conditions such as vapours, acids or plastic materials in the immediate vicinity have no influence on the measuring result.

The protective pipes (optionally available from EMG) should be made of liquid-resistant, non-metallic material. In practice, pipes made of PTFE or ceramic with an inner diameter of 150 mm have proven suitable. The distance between the active measuring surfaces of the coils is a maximum of 300 mm as standard and can be increased to a maximum of 500 mm, taking into account the strip material, thickness and width, with poorer strip centre measurement accuracy.

Three types of coils are available to cover the strip widths that occur in practice. Depending on the choice of centre sensors, strip width differences of 550, 950 or 1550 mm can be measured for centre deviation.

 

Which components are used?

 

Where can I get support?

Know-how and support in the design, construction and installation of a complete solution for installation in your system can be found in concentrated form at EMG! Our sales and service staff, our international sales organisation or our product manager Martin Wied (martin.wied@emg-automation.com) can offer you concrete advice on the design of your guiding and sensor solution at any time.

Just contact us!

 

Downloads:

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Some cookies on this site are essential, and the site won't work as expected without them. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking on simple links.

We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of the site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features of the site may be unavailable.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit 75 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!

02.06.2021

EMG-Bandlaufregelungen: Know-how für die Anwender – 09

Induktive Mittenmessung im Nassbereich, z. B. bei Beizlinien

Schematische Darstellung der IMR Bandmittenmessung in feuchter Umgebung mit Spulen in Schutzrohren und Handgriffen zur Positionierung

In diesem und in den folgenden Artikeln dieser Reihe fassen wir Know-how zum Einsatz von EMG-Bandlaufregelungen zusammen und versuchen, Ihnen damit für die Planung der einsetzbaren Komponenten und für die Auslegung der Systeme die notwendigen Grundlagen an die Hand zu geben.

Bisher erschienen: 

 

Induktive Mittenmessung im Nassbereich, z. B. bei Beizlinien

Einsatz und Anwendung:

In aggressiver und feuchter Umgebung, wie Bandbeiz- oder Spülanlagen mit Mediumtemperaturen bis zu 80 °C, erfasst die induktive Bandmittenmessung IMR mit einer Genauigkeit von ±5 mm die Bandmittenlage von Metallbändern und Metallfolien. Die Anlage ist vollkommen wartungsfrei und geeignet für den Einsatz bei Säuredämpfen und Flüssigkeiten.

Realisierung:

Beim IMR werden vier vergossene Spulen in zwei mediumbeständige, nichtmetallische Schutzrohre, die ober- und unterhalb des Bandes quer durch den Behälter führen, eingeschoben. Damit ist die Sensorik bestmöglich gegen Umwelteinflüsse geschützt. 

Zwei Spulen in einem Rohr fungieren als Sender, während die anderen beiden als Empfänger fungieren. Die Spulen werden so eingebaut, dass jeder Sender dem entsprechenden Empfänger gegenüberliegt, wobei die aktiven Messflächen zum Band gerichtet und die Messbereiche der Spulen symmetrisch zur Systemachse angeordnet sind. Die kleinsten und größten Bandbreiten sollten die Messbereiche der Spulen nicht überschreiten. Die IMR-Spulen sind gekapselt und von einem C-förmigen Edelstahlblech umgeben, das zum Band hin offen ist. Zur Positionierung und zum Entfernen der Spulen innerhalb der Schutzrohre sind diese mit Handgriffen in anwendungsspezifischer Länge versehen. Die maximale Kabellänge von den Spulen bis zur Auswerteelektronik beträgt 15 m.  

Aufgrund des induktiven Messverfahrens haben typische Umgebungsbedingungen wie Dämpfe, Säuren oder Kunststoffmaterialien in unmittelbarer Nähe keinen Einfluss auf das Messergebnis.

Die Schutzrohre (optional auch bei EMG erhältlich) sollten aus flüssigkeitsbeständigem, nichtmetallischem Material bestehen. In der Praxis haben sich Rohre aus PTFE oder Keramik mit einem Innendurchmesser von 150 mm als geeignet erwiesen. Der Abstand zwischen den aktiven Messflächen der Spulen beträgt standardmäßig maximal 300 mm und kann unter Berücksichtigung von Bandmaterial, -dicke und- breite auf maximal 500 mm erhöht werden bei schlechterer Bandmittenmessgenauigkeit.

Es stehen drei Spulentypen zur Auswahl, mit denen die in der Praxis vorkommenden Bandbreiten abgedeckt werden. Je nach Auswahl der Mittensensoren lassen sich Bandbreitenunterschiede von 550, 950 oder 1550 mm auf Mittenabweichung erfassen.

Welche Komponenten kommen zum Einsatz?

 

Wo bekomme ich Unterstützung?

Know-how und Unterstützung bei der Auslegung, Konstruktion und Installation einer Gesamtlösung zum Einbau in Ihre Anlage finden Sie konzentriert bei der EMG! Konkrete Beratung zur Auslegung Ihrer Regelung und Sensoriklösung bieten Ihnen jederzeit unsere Vertriebs- und Servicemitarbeiter, unsere internationale Vertriebsorganisation oder auch unser Produktmanager Martin Wied (martin.wied@emg-automation.com).

Sprechen Sie uns einfach an!

Downloads:

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies zur Verbesserung des Erlebnisses unserer Besucher. Indem Sie weiterhin auf dieser Webseite navigieren, erklären Sie sich mit unserer Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.

Einige dieser Cookies sind technisch zwingend notwendig, um gewisse Funktionen der Webseite zu gewährleisten.

Darüber hinaus verwenden wir einige Cookies, die dazu dienen, Informationen über das Benutzerverhalten auf dieser Webseite zu gewinnen und unsere Webseite auf Basis dieser Informationen stetig zu verbessern.