Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for 75 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!

12.03.2021

EMG strip guiding systems: Know-how for users - 08

Steering rolls with proportional-integral guiding behaviour

Application examples for a steering roll with PI positioning behaviour incl. SMI strip centre sensor as well as hydraulic control unit for the actuator system.

In this and the following articles in this series, we summarise know-how on the use of EMG strip guiding systems and try to provide you with the necessary basics for planning the components that can be used and for designing the systems.

Published so far: 

Steering rolls with proportional-integral (PI) positioning behaviour

Use and application:

A proportional-integral (PI) steering roll is created by combining a proportional and an integral component. PI steering rolls are preferred because this type of steering rolls combines the advantages of the P-model and the I-model. The P component causes a direct correction of the strip and the I component a large error correction via the winding effect with feedback into the infeed section. In the example shown in the picture, the steering roll (type SRH) has the task of transferring the strip into a strip infeed accumulator in the middle of the system. Following a longer free infeed section, a large incoming strip error can be corrected at a 90° deflection roll as described above. The free run-in distance of the SR must be 10 to 15 times the maximum strip width, whereas 2 times the maximum strip width is sufficient for the free run-out distance. For long free inlet and outlet distances, the system can also be used on a 180° deflection rolls.

Realisation:

The swivel frame with mounted deflector roll is guided via two steering levers in such a way that a suitable combination of angular formation between strip and roll axis (I-part) and a lateral displacement of the strip (P-part) results. Thus, in addition to the exact outfeed position of the strip, a centring effect is also achieved in the infeed. In this example, the maintenance-free inductive strip centre measurement type SMI is arranged directly behind the steering roll to detect the strip position.

Of course, PI steering rolls are also used in many other application scenarios. The pictograms on the left side of the picture give a first impression.

Which components are used?

Where can I get support?

Know-how and support in the design, construction and installation of a complete solution for installation in your system can be found in concentrated form at EMG! Our sales and service staff, our international sales organisation or our product manager Martin Wied (martin.wied@emg-automation.com) can offer you concrete advice on the design of your guiding and sensor solution at any time.

Just contact us!

Downloads:

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Some cookies on this site are essential, and the site won't work as expected without them. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking on simple links.

We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of the site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features of the site may be unavailable.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit mehr als 70 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!

12.03.2021

EMG-Bandlaufregelungen: Know-how für die Anwender – 08

Steuerrollen mit proportional-integralem Stellverhalten

Einsatzbeispiele für eine Steuerrolle mit PI-Stellverhalten inkl. SMI Bandmittensensor sowie Hydraulikregelgerät für die Aktorik

In diesem und in den folgenden Artikeln dieser Reihe fassen wir Know-how zum Einsatz von EMG-Bandlaufregelungen zusammen und versuchen, Ihnen damit für die Planung der einsetzbaren Komponenten und für die Auslegung der Systeme die notwendigen Grundlagen an die Hand zu geben.

Bisher erschienen: 

 

Steuerrollen mit proportional-integralem (PI) Stellverhalten 

Einsatz und Anwendung:

Eine proportional-integral wirkende Steuerrolle (PI) entsteht durch die Kombination aus proportional und integral wirkendem Anteil. PI-Steuerrollen werden bevorzugt eingesetzt, da diese Art von Steuerrollen die Vorteile des P-Modells und des I-Modells vereinigt. Der P-Anteil bewirkt eine direkte Korrektur des Bandes und der I-Anteil eine große Fehlerkorrektur über den Wickeleffekt mit Rückwirkung in die Einlaufstrecke. Bei dem im Bild gezeigten Beispiel hat die Steuerrolle (Typ SRH) die Aufgabe, das Band anlagenmittig in einen Bandeinlaufspeicher zu übergeben. Im Anschluss an eine längere freie Einlaufstrecke kann an einer 90° Umlenkrolle wie oben beschrieben ein großer ankommender Bandfehler korrigiert werden. Die freie Einlaufstrecke der SR muss das 10 bis 15-fache der der maximalen Bandbreite betragen, wobei für die freie Auslaufstrecke die 2-fache maximale Bandbreite ausreicht. Bei langen freien Ein- und Auslaufstrecken kann das System auch an einer 180° Umlenkrolle eingesetzt werden.

Realisierung:

Der Schwenkrahmen mit aufgebauter Umlenkrolle wird über zwei Lenkhebel so geführt, dass sich eine passende Kombination aus Winkelbildung zwischen Band und Rollenachse (I-Anteil) und einer seitlichen Verschiebung des Bandes (P-Anteil) ergibt. So wird neben der exakten Auslaufposition des Bandes auch eine zentrierende Wirkung im Einlauf erreicht. Zur Erfassung der Bandlage ist in diesem Beispiel die wartungsfreie induktive Bandmittenmessung Typ SMI unmittelbar hinter der Steuerrolle angeordnet.

Selbstverständlich kommen darüber hinaus PI-Steuerrollen in vielen anderen Anwendungsszenarien zum Einsatz. Die Piktogramme auf der linken Seite des Bildes geben einen ersten Eindruck davon.

Welche Komponenten kommen zum Einsatz?

Wo bekomme ich Unterstützung?

Know-how und Unterstützung bei der Auslegung, Konstruktion und Installation einer Gesamtlösung zum Einbau in Ihre Anlage finden Sie konzentriert bei der EMG! Konkrete Beratung zur Auslegung Ihrer Regelung und Sensoriklösung bieten Ihnen jederzeit unsere Vertriebs- und Servicemitarbeiter, unsere internationale Vertriebsorganisation oder auch unser Produktmanager Martin Wied (martin.wied@emg-automation.com.

Sprechen Sie uns einfach an!

Downloads:

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies

Diese Webseite nutzt Cookies zur Verbesserung des Erlebnisses unserer Besucher. Indem Sie weiterhin auf dieser Webseite navigieren, erklären Sie sich mit unserer Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.

Einige dieser Cookies sind technisch zwingend notwendig, um gewisse Funktionen der Webseite zu gewährleisten.

Darüber hinaus verwenden wir einige Cookies, die dazu dienen, Informationen über das Benutzerverhalten auf dieser Webseite zu gewinnen und unsere Webseite auf Basis dieser Informationen stetig zu verbessern.