Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for 75 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!

05.12.2018

The EMG IMPOC test stand at the EMG plant

"Highspeed" for customer service and technological development

The EMG IMPOC system for online testing of material properties is used today in more than 50 production lines worldwide. EMG IMPOC is based on a magnetic-inductive method for the automatic, non-destructive online determination of the mechanical properties tensile strength and yield strength of ferromagnetic steels. Over the past 15 years, EMG has developed a broad know-how base on the application of IMPOC technology in a wide variety of application areas (see also: Why do you actually need an EMG IMPOC system?). Nevertheless, in the case of new and higher-strength materials in particular, sample analysis with regard to the applicability and sensitivity of the EMG IMPOC measurement method, which depends on the magnetic properties of the material, is often at the beginning of a decision to invest in a new IMPOC system.

For this purpose and to support EMG's development work on magnetic-inductive measuring methods and hardware tests, the IMPOC test stand at EMG's Wenden plant has been successively further developed and optimized. Today, sample sizes between 500 x 500 mm and 700 x 700 mm, weighing up to 45 kg and in the thickness range between 0.15 and 12 mm, can be accelerated over a travel distance of 6 m up to a speed of 600 m/min at the measuring point.

The measuring stand also allows our development engineers, for example, to measure and evaluate the residual magnetic field in the X, Y and Z directions using a Hall probe after magnetizing a sample with the EMG IMPOC system. This allows important conclusions to be drawn about the spatial characteristics of the magnetization of the material, which in turn are decisive for the continuous further development of EMG IMPOC technology.

The illustration shows the test stand at EMG with the total travel length of 6 m (1), the magnetization of a sample with the IMPOC system (2), the measurement of the residual magnetic field with a Hall probe (3) and an exemplary evaluation and smoothing of the measurement results in a 3D illustration (4).

Conclusion: With the current IMPOC test stand, an even faster and more efficient sample analysis is possible in the sense of optimum customer advice and the EMG development team has secured a "pole position" in the race for technological further development in non-destructive quality testing procedures. In addition, the test stand is designed in such a way that it can and will also be used for other EMG quality assurance systems, e.g. EMG SOLID®. It therefore continues at "highspeed" from many points of view.

A good summary of the technological basics and performance features of the IMPOC system can be found in the brochure: EMG IMPOC - Online measurement of tensile strength and yield strength. Download here now!

Have you become curious? Would you like to find out more about EMG IMPOC and the associated application possibilities? Please feel free to contact our sales department, our international sales organization or our product manager Matthias Bärwald (matthias.baerwald@emg-automation.com).

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Some cookies on this site are essential, and the site won't work as expected without them. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking on simple links.

We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of the site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features of the site may be unavailable.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit mehr als 70 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!
05.12.2018

Der EMG IMPOC-Teststand im Werk der EMG

„Highspeed“ für Kundenberatung und die technologische Weiterentwicklung“

Das EMG IMPOC-System zur Online-Überprüfung von Materialeigenschaften wird heute bei weltweit mehr als 50 Produktionslinien eingesetzt. EMG IMPOC basiert auf einem magnetinduktiven Verfahren zur automatischen, zerstörungsfreien Online-Bestimmung der mechanischen Kennwerte Zugfestigkeit und Streckgrenze bei ferromagnetischen Stählen. In den vergangenen 15 Jahren ist bei EMG eine breite Know-how-Basis über die Anwendung der IMPOC-Technologie in den verschiedensten Anwendungsbereichen entstanden (siehe auch: Wozu braucht man eigentlich ein EMG IMPOC-System? ). Nichtdestotrotz steht insbesondere bei neuen und höherfesten Materialen eine Probenuntersuchung hinsichtlich der Anwendbarkeit und der Sensitivität der IMPOC-Messmethode, die von den magnetischen Eigenschaften des Materials abhängt, oft am Anfang einer Entscheidung für die Investition in ein neues IMPOC-System.

Zu diesem Zweck und zur Unterstützung der EMG-Entwicklungsarbeiten bei magnetinduktiven Messverfahren sowie für Hardware-Prüfungen ist der IMPOC-Teststand im Werk der EMG in Wenden sukzessive weiterentwickelt und optimiert worden. Heute können Probengrößen zwischen 500 x 500 mm und 700 x 700 mm, mit einem Gewicht bis zu 45 kg und im Dickenbereich zwischen 0,15 und 12 mm über einen Verfahrweg von 6 m bis zu einer Geschwindigkeit von 600 m/min am Messpunkt beschleunigt werden.

Der Messstand erlaubt unseren Entwicklungsingenieuren zum Beispiel auch, nach der Magnetisierung einer Probe mit dem IMPOC-System, über eine Hallsonde das Restmagnetfeld in X-, Y- und Z-Richtung zu vermessen und auszuwerten. Damit lassen sich wichtige Rückschlüsse auf die räumliche Ausprägung der Magnetisierung des Materials ableiten, die wiederum für die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung der IMPOC-Technologie ausschlaggebend sind.

Die Darstellung zeigt im Uhrzeigersinn den Teststand bei EMG mit der Gesamtverfahrlänge von 6 m (1), die Magnetisierung einer Probe mit dem IMPOC-System (2), die Messung des Restmagnetfeldes mit einer Hallsonde (3) und eine exemplarische Auswertung und Glättung der Messergebnisse in einer 3D-Darstellung (4).

Fazit: Mit dem aktuellen IMPOC-Teststand ist eine noch schnellere und effizientere Probenuntersuchung im Sinne einer optimalen Kundenberatung möglich und die EMG Entwicklungsmannschaft hat sich eine „Poleposition“ im Rennen der technologischen Weiterentwicklung bei nicht-zerstörenden Qualitätsprüfverfahren gesichert. Darüber hinaus ist der Teststand so gebaut, dass er auch für andere Qualitätssichernde Systeme der EMG, z. B. EMG SOLID®, genutzt werden kann und wird. Es geht also unter vielen Gesichtspunkten mit „Highspeed“ weiter.

 Eine gute Zusammenfassung der technologischen Grundlagen und Leistungsmerkmale des IMPOC-Systems finden Sie in der Broschüre: EMG IMPOC - Online Messung von Zugfestigkeit und Streckgrenze. Jetzt hier downloaden!.

Neugierig geworden? Sie wollen direkt mehr zu EMG IMPOC und den damit verbundenen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten erfahren? Kontaktieren Sie gerne jederzeit unseren Vertrieb, unsere internationale Vertriebsorganisation oder auch unseren Produktmanager Herrn Matthias Bärwald (matthias.baerwald@emg-automation.com).