Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for more than 70 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!

Opel and Volvo install EMG SOLID® IR

The oil layer measurement in the automotive pressing plant is of significant interest to the automotive manufacturer.

EMG SOLID® IR

In addition to various material properties, such as roughness and strength, a defined oil layer is one of the decisive parameters for the forming process, especially when it comes to complex components. As a result, the online oil layer measurement in the automotive pressing plant is of significant interest to the automotive manufacturer.

The oil layer measuring systems are typically installed in blanking lines downstream of the straightening machine. The aim is to feed the punched-out blank into the press with a defined, specific oil layer so as to ensure a high throughput, while at the same time minimising material loss and preventing damage to the tool during the forming process. Additional oiling steps are to be avoided in the sense of cost efficiency and, in many cases, such steps are not possible at all due to reasons relating to production logistics. Particularly in the case of thin oil layers, e.g. 500 mg/m2, a reliable online measurement of the lubricant layer is a necessary condition for achieving optimum deformation results while simultaneously ensuring high production output.

Following this strategy, the two automotive groups, namely Opel and Volvo, have each installed and commissioned an EMG SOLID® IR oil layer measuring system in one of their blanking lines. The infrared spectroscopy-based system delivers reliable online layer thickness values for the combinations of surfaces and lubricants that occur in production.

Intrigued? Do you want to know more about EMG SOLID® IR? Then please get in touch with our sales manager, Mr Karl-Heinz Fröhning (karl-heinz.froehning@emg-automation.com ), or our international sales organisation at any time.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit mehr als 70 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!
30.03.2017

Opel und Volvo installieren EMG SOLID® IR

Die Online-Ölauflagenmessung ist im automobilen Presswerk von höchstem Interesse für den Automobilhersteller.

EMG SOLID® IR

Eine definierte Ölauflage gehört neben den Materialeigenschaften, wie Rauheit und Festigkeit, zu den entscheidenden Parametern für den Umformprozess, insbesondere bei komplexen Bauteilen. Aus diesem Grund ist die Online-Ölauflagenmessung im automobilen Presswerk von höchstem Interesse für den Automobilhersteller.

Typischerweise werden die Ölauflagenmesssysteme in den Platinenschneidanlagen (engl. “blanking lines”) nach der Richtmaschine installiert. Ziel ist, die ausgestanzte Platine mit einer definierten, spezifischen Ölauflage in die Presse zu fördern, um so einen hohen Durchsatz bei gleichzeitig minimiertem Materialverlust und ohne Beschädigungen des Werkzeugs im Umformprozess zu gewährleisten. Zusätzliche Beölungsschritte sind dabei im Sinne der Kosteneffizienz zu vermeiden und aus produktionslogistischen Gründen in vielen Fällen gar nicht realisierbar. Insbesondere bei dünnen Ölauflagen, z. B. in der Größenordnung von 500 mg/m2, ist somit eine sichere Online-Messung der Schmierstoffauflage eine notwendige Bedingung zur Erzielung optimaler Umformungsergebnisse bei gleichzeitig hohem Produktionsausstoß.

Dieser Strategie folgend, haben nunmehr die beiden Automobilkonzerne Opel und Volvo jeweils ein EMG SOLIDⓇ IR Ölauflagenmesssystem  in einer Platinenschneidanlage installiert und in Betrieb genommen. Das auf Infrarotspektroskopie basierende System liefert sichere Online-Schichtdickenwerte für die in der Produktion vorkommenden Kombinationen aus Oberflächen und eingesetzten Schmierstoffen.

Neugierig geworden? Sie wollen direkt mehr zu EMG SOLIDⓇ IR wissen? Kontaktieren Sie gerne jederzeit unseren verantwortlichen Vertriebsmanager Herrn Karl-Heinz Fröhning (karl-heinz.froehning@emg-automation.com) oder unsere internationale Vertriebsorganisation.