Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for more than 70 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!
14.02.2017

New perspectives for aluminium strip production

a) and b) glimpse into the SORM 3plus measuring heads and SOLID®, c) distribution of the oil layer over the width/length of the strip

Online determination of roughness and oil layer thickness with SORM 3plus and SOLID®

Exact knowledge of the surface roughness and thickness of the oil layer provides pressing plants in the automotive industry with enormous potential in terms of reducing their waste and enhancing process reliability before continuing to process aluminium strip or plate material. The oil layer measurement, however, has specific requirements. The trend is towards higher strength material with thinner oil layers, which, overall, means enhanced requirements for the pressing process in terms of accuracy. Due to the close relationship between the oil layer and material roughness, as well as the significant influence they have on the forming process, e.g. for the automobile manufacturer, accurate monitoring and control of both factors during production of the strip will provide the aluminium manufacturer with an important competitive advantage.

Standard measuring methods that are used in the production of aluminium strip material are based on the use of handheld devices. The accuracy of this approach is extremely limited and prone to errors, particularly due to the low statistical significance of the individual measurement (point measurement) and the human factor. These limitations are overcome with the introduction of the EMG SORM3plus and EMG SOLID® online measuring systems, which are also suitable for the aluminium production process. EMG SORM3plus is a laser-based online roughness measuring system, which delivers online values for Ra and Rpc in a quasi-continuous manner at production speeds of up to 2400 m/min.
The EMG SOLID® system, which is based on infrared spectroscopy and used for continuous online measurement of the oil layer, is suitable for use on uncoated and pre-treated aluminium strip material and can be used for a wide variety of lubricants (mineral oils, thixotropic mineral oils, dry-film lubricants/dry lubes).

In addition to providing online measurement data and enabling the operator to intervene immediately in the process to prevent variations in quality and complaints, both systems also provide valuable historical data that can be used for trend analysis, statistical process optimisation and the verification of process models.

By combining these systems, the aluminium manufacturer is able to generate data consistently throughout the process chain, thereby enabling the production of individual plate material to be replicated exactly in the downstream processes. The data cannot only be used for subsequent error analysis, but it can also be used in the future for targeted control of presses and post oiling systems in the pressing plant. This is, at the very least, potential that can be derived from the industry-wide activities conducted in the context of the Industry 4.0 paradigm.

Do you want to know more about EMG SOLID® or EMG SORM 3plus? Then please get in touch with our sales manager, Mr. Karl-Heinz Fröhning (karl-heinz.froehning@emg-automation.com), our international sales organisation or our product managers, Mr. Guido Eichert guido.eichert@emg-automation.com (SORM 3plus) and Mr. Timo Gemmer timo.gemmer@emg-automation.com (SOLID®), at any time.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit mehr als 70 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!
14.02.2017

Neue Perspektiven für die Aluminiumbandproduktion

a ) und b) Blick in die Messköpfe SORM 3plus und SOLID®, c) Ölschichtdickenverteilung über Bandbreite/länge

Online-Rauheits- und Ölauflagendickenmessung mit SORM 3plus und SOLID®

In den Presswerken für die Automobilproduktion, birgt die genaue Kenntnis der Oberflächenrauheit und der Ölauflagendicke vor der weiteren Verarbeitung von Aluminiumbändern oder Platinen ein enormes Potenzial in Hinblick auf die Reduzierung des Ausschusses und die Erhöhung der Prozesssicherheit. Die Ölauflagenmessung trifft dabei auf besondere Anforderungen. Der Trend geht in Richtung dünnerer Ölauflagen bei gleichzeitig höherer Materialfestigkeit und bedeutet somit insgesamt erhöhte Genauigkeitsanforderungen für den Pressprozess. Durch die enge Beziehung der Ölauflage und der Materialrauheit als beeinflussende Parameter für den Formgebungsprozess, z. B. beim Automobilhersteller, ist die genaue Überwachung und Steuerung dieser beiden Faktoren bei der Bandproduktion ein wichtiger Wettbewerbsvorteil für den Aluminiumhersteller.

Die Standard-Messverfahren bei der Herstellung von Aluminiumbändern beruhen auf Messungen mit Handgeräten. Die Genauigkeit dieses Ansatzes ist äußerst begrenzt und fehleranfällig, insbesondere aufgrund der geringen statistischen Aussagekraft der Einzelmessung (Punktmessung) und des Faktors Mensch. Mit der Einführung der Online-Messsysteme EMG SORM3plus und EMG SOLID® auch für die Aluminiumherstellung werden diese Einschränkungen überwunden. EMG SORM3plus ist ein laserbasiertes Online-Rauheitsmessung System, welches bei Produktionsgeschwindigkeiten bis zu 2400 m/min quasi kontinuierlich Online-Werte für Ra und Rpc liefert.

Das auf Infrarot-Spektroskopie basierende Gerät für die ebenfalls kontinuierliche Online-Ölauflagenmessung EMG SOLID® ist anwendbar auf unbeschichteten und vorbehandelten Aluminiumbändern und kann für ein breites Spektrum von Schmierstoffen (Mineralöle, thixotrope Mineralöle, Trockenschmierstoffe/Drylubes) verwendet werden. 

Neben den Online-Messdaten und der Möglichkeit, zur Vermeidung von Qualitätsabweichungen und Reklamationen, sofort in den Prozess einzugreifen, liefern beide Systeme wertvolle Langzeitdaten für Trendanalysen, die statistische Prozessoptimierung oder die Verifikation von Prozessmodellen.

Durch die Kombination der Systeme kann der Aluminiumhersteller konsequent Daten über die Prozesskette generieren, die eine stückgenaue Verarbeitung von Einzelplatinen in den nachgeschalteten Prozessen ermöglichen würden. Die Daten können nicht nur für die anschließende Fehleranalyse dienen, sondern in Zukunft auch zur gezielten Steuerung von Pressen und Nachbeölungssystemen im Presswerk genutzt werden. Dies ist zumindest ein Potenzial was sich aus den industrieweiten Aktivitäten im Kontext des Paradigmas Industrie 4.0  ableiten lässt.

Sie wollen direkt mehr zu EMG SOLID® oder EMG SORM 3plus wissen? Kontaktieren Sie gerne jederzeit unseren verantwortlichen Vertriebsmanager Herrn Karl-Heinz Fröhning (karl-heinz.froehning@emg-automation.com), unsere internationale Vertriebsorganisation oder auch unsere Produktmanager Herrn Guido Eichert, guido.eichert@emg-automation.com (SORM 3plus) bzw. Herrn Timo Gemmer unter: timo.gemmer@emg-automation.com (SOLID®).