Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for more than 70 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!
13.02.2017

Infrared online oil layer measurement EMG SOLID® IR – the system

A glimpse into the measuring head of the EMG SOLID® system with halogen lamp

EMG SOLID® IR, which stands for "Surface Oil Layer Inline Determination", is based on infrared spectroscopy and delivers reliable results for the applied oil layer over the entire width and length of the steel or aluminium strip material.

In addition to determining the various roughness and strength values, the measurement of the oil layer represents the third component for optimising the steel or aluminium production process, as well as for the subsequent forming process to provide optimum knowledge of the tribological parameters. The knowledge of these parameters offers enormous potential in terms of reducing scrap and increasing process reliability. The measurement of the oil layer also enables a precise reapplication of oil for the panels being formed.

The principle
The actual measuring principle implemented by EMG SOLID® IR is based on the Lambert-Beer law. According to this law, the attenuation of the radiation's intensity as it passes through a medium with an absorbent substance (in this case the applied oil layer) depends on the concentration of the substance and its layer thickness. In the arrangement employed by the EMG SOLID® IR system, two halogen lamps (see image: measuring head) emit infrared radiation onto the surface of the material. A part of the light is reflected from the illuminated and oiled strip surface and then registered via an infrared spectrometer, which is arranged perpendicular to the strip level between the two halogen lamps (measuring distance: 120 mm). The light beams penetrate the oil layer twice on their way. The intensities of specific wavelengths of the light spectrum are attenuated by the oil layer in this setup. The thickness of the oil layer is then ascertained from the spectroscopic analysis of the backscattered light.
 
What does the system deliver?
The traversing measuring head uses a measuring frequency of 60 Hz to determine the surface weight of the oil layer in g/m2 within a measuring range of 0.1 - 6 g/m² (measurements are also possible from 0.05 g/m² with special calibration). The system can be used for all metallic and non-metallic surfaces with a low gloss level; this includes, for example, steel/cold-rolled strip (hot-dip galvanised, electrogalvanised, phosphated, aluminised, ZnMg surfaces, galvannealed, etc.), as well as aluminium strip material (uncoated, pretreated).

A special function of the EMG SOLID® IR system is its integrated, fully automatic, fast measurability check of the system. Both the intensity of the light sources and the spectroscopic analysis function are checked at a regular (adjustable) interval, within a maximum period of 15 seconds.

Why choose EMG SOLID®?
The following are just some of the advantages for the user:

  • Independence of oil mixtures
  • Simple calibration of new oil types and oil type groups
  • High repetition accuracy of 0.0015 g/m²
  • Absolute and relative measurements possible
  • No falsification through unevenly applied passivation coatings
  • Integrated, fully automatic measurability check
  • Special EMG solution for keeping the lenses clean


Further details are also available in our product brochure: EMG SOLID® oil layer measurement.

Do you want to know more about EMG SOLID®? Then please get in touch with our sales manager, Mr. Karl-Heinz Fröhning (karl-heinz.froehning@emg-automation.com), our international sales organisation or our product manager, Mr. Timo Gemmer (timo.gemmer@emg-automation.com), at any time.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit mehr als 70 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!
13.02.2017

Infrarot Online-Ölauflagenmessung EMG SOLID® IR – das System

Blick in den Messkopf des EMG SOLID® IR Systems mit Halogenlampe

EMG SOLID® IR steht für „Surface Oil Layer Inline Determination“ auf Basis von Infrarotspektroskopie und liefert verlässliche Resultate für die auf das Stahl- oder Aluminiumband aufgebrachte Ölauflage über Bandbreite und -länge.

Neben der Bestimmung der Rauheits- und Festigkeitswerte stellt die Messung der Ölauflagenwerte den dritten Baustein für die Optimierung des Stahl- oder  Aluminiumproduktionsprozesses und des nachfolgenden Pressprozesses im Sinne einer optimalen Kenntnis der tribologischen Parameter dar. Die Kenntnis dieser Parameter birgt immenses Potenzial in Bezug auf die Reduktion des Ausschusses und die Erhöhung der Prozesssicherheit in sich. Mit der Messung der Ölauflage ist zudem ein exakt dosiertes Nachölen der zu pressenden Tafeln möglich.

 

Das Prinzip

Das eigentliche Messprinzip von EMG SOLID® IR beruht auf dem Lambert-Beer Gesetz. Demnach hängt die Abschwächung der Intensität einer Strahlung beim Durchgang durch ein Medium mit einer absorbierenden Substanz (in diesem Fall der aufgebrachten Ölschicht) von der Konzentration der Substanz und ihrer Schichtdicke ab. In der bei EMG SOLID® IR genutzten Anordnung emittieren zwei Halogenlampen (siehe Bild: Messkopf) Infrarotstrahlung auf die Materialoberfläche. Ein Teil des Lichtes wird von der beleuchteten sowie beölten Bandoberfläche reflektiert und in einem Infrarotspektrometer, welches senkrecht zur Bandebene zwischen den beiden Halogenstrahlern angeordnet ist, registriert (Messabstand: 120 mm). Auf ihrem Weg dorthin durchdringen die Lichtstrahlen zweimal die Ölschicht. Hierbei werden die Intensitäten spezifischer Wellenlängen des Lichtspektrums von der Ölauflage gedämpft. Aus der spektroskopischen Analyse des rückgestreuten Lichts ergibt sich dann die Schichtdicke der Ölauflage.

 

Und was liefert das System?

Der traversierende Messkopf bestimmt das Flächengewicht der Ölauflage in g/m2 im Messbereich zwischen 0,1 – 6 g/m² (Messungen ab 0,05 g/m² mit Sonderkalibrierung möglich) mit einer Messfrequenz von 60 Hz. Das System kann für alle metallischen und nicht-metallischen Oberflächen mit geringem Glanzgrad eingesetzt werden; also beispielsweise: Stahl-/Kaltband (feuerverzinkt, elektrolytisch verzinkt, phosphatiert, aluminisiert, ZnMg-Oberflächen, galvannealed) oder auch Aluminiumbänder (unbeschichtet, vorbehandelt).

Ein spezielle Funktionalität des EMG SOLID® IR Systems ist die integrierte vollautomatische schnelle Messfähigkeitsüberprüfung des Systems. Sowohl die Intensität der Lichtquellen als auch die spektroskopische Analysefunktion wird regelmäßig (einstellbar) innerhalb von maximal 15 Sekunden überprüft.

 

Warum EMG SOLID®?

Für den Anwender ergeben sich u.a. die folgenden Vorteile:

  • Unabhängigkeit von Ölvermischungen
  • Einfache Kalibrierung neuer Ölsorten und Ölsorten-Gruppenkalibrierung
  • Hohe Wiederholgenauigkeit 0,0015 g/m²
  • Absolut- und Relativmessung möglich
  • Keine Verfälschung durch ungleich aufgebrachte Passivierungen
  • Integrierte vollautomatische Messfähigkeitsüberprüfung
  • Spezielle EMG-Lösung zur Reinhaltung der Optik

Weitere Details sind auch unserer Produktbroschüre: EMG SOLID® Ölauflagenmessung und unserer Webseite zu entnehmen.