Automation

flexible and customised solutions

Drive Solutions

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

The company EMG –

a reliable employer for more than 70 years!

Solutions

to optimise your process and product quality!

EMG-Vivaldi®: Technology and market update

The radar-based EMG-Vivaldi® sensor system, which is used to determine the strip centre position, continues to establish itself within the market, while its technology is continuously being developed.

The following image shows the result of an upgrade to the EMG-Vivaldi® system for the control cabinet.

The sensor system, which is mounted externally on the furnace wall, focuses electromagnetic waves through the non-conductive insulation of the furnace and onto the edge of thin metal strip material. As the furnace wall is completely enclosed in a gas-tight manner, the strip is not able to damage the sensor itself, even in case of strip breaks.

The accuracy of the system depends on the exact dimensioning of the furnace geometry with the generated radar waves. For this purpose, a reference measurement is carried out in the cold furnace.. A problem in this regard is that the furnace geometry alters during the heating process in production mode. The measuring results produced by the sensor would therefore be falsified above a certain temperature in the furnace.

The EMG-Vivaldi® solution: Hot-referencing
When a certain temperature is exceeded in the furnace, the EMG-Vivaldi® system gradually adapts the reference value of the empty furnace. An empty furnace is virtually adapted to a hot state via this method. This adaptation operates continuously and utilises the strip width spectrum produced in the system. The duration of the adaptation process is dependent on the occurrence of different strip widths, i.e. from the minimum to the maximum value.

The algorithm used for hot-referencing is part of the extensive EMG-Vivaldi® software package.

The EMG-VivaldiⓇ installations
Since the solution was introduced in 2015, 58 EMG-Vivaldi® sensor systems have been ordered. 24 of these systems are now used in production operations.

The process for upgrading from an inductive IHM/IMM strip centre sensor to the EMG-Vivaldi® system is comparatively easy and is possible in a few steps:

  • The existing control cabinet can be used furthermore. The control amplifier used must be an SPC16 with MCU24 or an EMG iCON®.
  • An adapter plate is used to replace the sensor electronics in the control cabinet. This then replaces the evaluation electronics, e.g. for an IMH system (BMI electronics).  The adapter plate contains the EMG-Vivaldi® data processing unit (DPU), an industrial PC (IPC) and the power supply.
  • The programme is then adapted in the digital controller.
  • For integration into the furnace wall, the old flange of the inductive sensor (IHM/IMM) must be cut out and replaced with the new EMG-Vivaldi® flange.


Conclusion: The EMG-Vivaldi® system is increasingly becoming the standard solution for strip centre control in continuous annealing furnaces. The system is characterised by its high level of accuracy, low maintenance requirements, insensitivity to strip fluctuations and the installation of all electronic and mechanical sensor components outside the furnace atmosphere.

Do you want to know more about the EMG-Vivaldi® application and technology in general? Then please get in touch with our sales organisation at any time or contact our product management team directly at: martin.wied@emg-automation.com.

Automation

flexible und individuell
zugeschnittene Gesamtlösungen

Antriebstechnik

THE ORIGINAL. BE SAFE.

Das Unternehmen EMG –

ein verlässlicher Arbeitgeber seit mehr als 70 Jahren!

Lösungen

zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozess- und Produktqualität!
13.06.2017

EMG-Vivaldi®: Technologie- und Markt-Update

Das radarbasierte EMG-Vivaldi®-Sensorsystem zur Bestimmung der Bandmittenlage setzt sich weiter im Markt durch, gleichzeitig wird die Technologie kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt.

Das Bild zeigt das Ergebnis eines Upgrades auf EMG-Vivaldi® für den Schaltschrank.

Das außen an der Ofenwand montierte Sensorsystem fokussiert elektromagnetische Wellen durch die nicht leitende Isolierung des Ofens auf die Kante von dünnen Metallbändern. Da die Ofenwand vollständig und gasdicht geschlossen ist, kann das Band den Sensor  selbst, auch im Falle von Bandrissen, nicht beschädigen.

Die Genauigkeit des Systems ist dabei von der exakten Ausmessung der Ofengeometrie mit den erzeugten Radarwellen abhängig. Hierzu wird eine Leermessung am kalten Ofen durchgeführt. Problem dabei ist, dass sich die Ofengeometrie während des Aufheizvorgangs im Produktionsbetrieb ändert. Ab einer bestimmten Temperatur im Ofen, würden daher die Messergebnisse des Sensors verfälscht.

Die EMG-VivaldiⓇ-Lösung: Heißreferenzierung
Oberhalb einer bestimmten Temperatur im Ofen adaptiert EMG-Vivaldi® Schritt für Schritt den Referenzwert des leeren Ofens. Über dieses Verfahren wird ein leerer Ofen im heißen Zustand nachgestellt. Diese Adaption arbeitet kontinuierlich und nutzt das in der Anlage produzierte Bandbreitenspektrum. Die Dauer des Adaptiervorgangs ist dabei abhängig vom Auftreten unterschiedlicher Bandbreiten, vom Minimalwert bis zum Maximalwert.

Der Algorithmus zur Heißreferenzierung ist Teil des umfangreichen EMG-Vivaldi®-Software-Pakets.

Die EMG-VivaldiⓇ-Installationen
Seit Einführung der Lösung im Jahr 2015 sind 58 EMG-Vivaldi®-Sensorsysteme bestellt worden. Davon sind inzwischen 24 Systeme im Produktionsbetrieb.

Das Upgrade von einem induktiven IHM/IMM-Bandmittensensor auf EMG-Vivaldi® ist vergleichsweise problemlos und in wenigen Schritten möglich:

  • Der existierende Schaltschrank kann weiter genutzt werden. Der eingesetzte Regelverstärker muss ein SPC16 mit MCU24 oder ein EMG iCON® sein.
  • Zum Austausch der Sensorelektronik im Schaltschrank kommt eine Adapterplatte zum Einsatz. Diese ersetzt dann die Auswerteelektronik z.B. eines IMH-Systems (BMI-Elektronik).  Die Adapterplatte enthält die EMG-Vivaldi®-Datenverarbeitungs-Einheit (DPU), einen Industrie-PC (IPC) und die Stromversorgung.
  • Im digitalen Controller erfolgt dann eine Programmanpassung.
  • Zur Integration in die Ofenwand muss zudem der alte Flansch des induktiven Sensors (IHM/IMM) herausgebrannt und durch den neuen EMG-Vivaldi®-Flansch ersetzt werden.


Fazit:  EMG-Vivaldi® setzt sich als die Standardlösung für die Bandmitten-Regelung in Durchlaufglühöfen mehr und mehr durch. Das System besticht durch seine hohe Genauigkeit, seine Wartungsarmut, seine Unempfindlichkeit gegenüber Bandschwankungen und die Installation aller elektronischen und mechanischen Sensorkomponenten außerhalb der Ofenatmosphäre.

Sie wollen generell mehr zur EMG-Vivaldi®-Anwendung und -Technologie wissen? Dann kontaktieren Sie gerne jederzeit unsere Vertriebsorganisation oder auch unser Produktmanagement direkt unter: martin.wied@emg-automation.com.